We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE - DISGUSTED.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds to your Saves list
Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   118 E. Woodlawn Rd., Charlotte, NC 28217 (Montclaire South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #111 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE - DISGUSTED.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend (Nov 18-19) and had the worst experience yet... There were 3 of us who stayed in the room with two double beds. The person who slept alone in one bed woke up covered literally head-toe in what appears to be BED BUG BITES. We have yet to confirm this and regret not checking the bed for "rust" smears from the bed bugs. We have since traveled back home (a different country) with fear of bringing the bugs home. In the past, we used to be able to depend on "Days Inn" hotels for being clean and sanitary - we will NEVER stay at a Days Inn again. If you are desperate for a place to sleep, sleep in your car, you are much better off. We are absolutely disgusted.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car to prevent you from getting BED BUG BITES.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello, Mem First of all, we thank you for staying at our property during your travel. And we really apologize for the inconvenience that you had to go through. I will personally make sure that we take action against this issue and resolve it. please give us a chance to provide you with best possible service. Again I apologize for the issue that you had to go through.

Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    32
    33
    51
See reviews for
39
39
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Did not like the $25.00 refundable surcharge REQUIRED to complete
registration. Was not published in advance of arrival. No hot water at
bedtime. Incomplete coffeemaker so no coffee availabe in room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is very handy to the highway but getting to it can be a bit tricky. The first driveway does lead to it but only after wandering a bit through the parking lot of the Aztecha Mexican restaurant. Continue east fifty or so feet and it's a much easier insertion. The parking lot is a bit cramped, especially if you have a long, classic convertible, and as the rooms are hallway entry, you will want to park as close to a door as possible. The building is far from new and does show its age on the outside.

However, if the travel gods are smiling on you, you will be waiting upon by a young student for whom the words, ebullient and welcoming, are pale and insufficient. Registering was actually a pleasure.

They may have done some interior updating because the room was comfortable and at the high end of what I'd expect in an economy hotel. The refrigerator worked well and the flat screen TV got a reasonable range of channels.

It's the kind of place I wouldn't mind staying in for a few days if I was staying in town.

Room Tip: The rooms are entered from the hallway so ask about which is the most convenient door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello, thank you for your time and effort we really appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience that you had to go through during your stay. please provide us a chance on your next stay to provide you with best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

FINALLY THE CARDIAC CATS HAVE RETURNED!!!!!!! Stayed at the hotel because its .1 mile from Woodlawn rail station which is the best transportation option to attend events uptown Charlotte. Train cost $2 each way and stonewall station would be best place to exit train to be within walking distance to stadium. awesome no DUI, no gridlock........ all Panthers and tailgating all day

Room Tip: ask for first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We missed our onward connection from Charlotte-Douglas and saw an advertisement in the airport for this establishment. The corridors were dirty and smelly. This was generally a grubby hotel. The place did not seem very secure. The television channels were patchy and were mainly local poor quality channels. We decided not to sample breakfast but there were a number of fast food and diners within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnWoodlawn, Manager at Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello, sir I thank you for your time and effort and I apologize for the inconvenience that you had to go through at our property . Please give us a chance to provide you with best possible service and I will personally make sure that you do not have to go through any of the problems that you had to go through earlier. we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds

Address: 118 E. Woodlawn Rd., Charlotte, NC 28217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Days Inn
Days Inn Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.