We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miscommunication” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds to your Saves list
Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   118 E. Woodlawn Rd., Charlotte, NC 28217 (Montclaire South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #111 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Miscommunication”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked this reservation a week ahead of time. My partner and myself were to stay Tuesday night in a king bed. During my reservation I asked also if I stayed at the hotel if I could leave my car at the hotel and take a shuttle to the airport. The attendant on the phone informed me that there was a charge for hotel parking if you did not have a reservation. I then asked, if I made a reservation would I be allowed to leave my car there free of charge. I was informed that I could do this.

Now.. Day of arrival:
I missed a phone call around 8pm Eastern time from Days Inn asking me to verify my reservation. I called back 10 minutes later to verify reservation only to find out that my king room had been given away. Due to Tuesday being a work day I was unable to get to Charlotte any earlier in the day. If pre-payment was necessary to book a room this should have been discussed or offered during my reservation phone call a week prior.

So we were given two double beds, which my partner and I had to sleep apart because of the size of beds.

Once we arrived the desk clerk displayed a very "cold" personality and also informed us that we could not leave our car at the hotel without paying a $5/day fee. I don't mind the $5/day fee, and it actually makes sense, but this is not what I was told when booking this room. I was told the parking would be free so long as I booked a reservation with the hotel.

I am disappointed with the service and communication that was offered during this recent stay. I was also disappointed to find the extremely strong smell of smoke in the lobby and hall ways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    32
    33
    51
See reviews for
39
39
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armada, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very clean quiet room. Larger than most. Helpful desk attendant. To solve the impossible left turn from the lot, go around back to the side road entrance. This will let you turn at the light. As far as the gentle mans club....it is not next door. It's down the road and decretely situated, no problem at all. The wifi does stink! I was never able to get a strong enough signal on my iPad. Other than the wifi, very good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I asked to use their bathroom prior to paying for the room, Black male in his early twenties told me: "Sorry for the Associates Only" Horrible Employees. It looked dirty, smells bad, Stay away from it. Right after I rented the room, I simply got my money back and left in the first 5 minutes of staying for not allowing me to use a bathroom when I had to pee so bad, and discomfort. I travel a lot, so this was the worst experience ever.

Room Tip: stay away from it, unless you're a drug addict.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for CIAA weekend. When we pulled up we where a little worried but that went away. It was in good location minutes away from downtown. I would stay here again the rooms was really clean. The staff was really nice. The rooms need to be updated. You have a lot of places to choose from to eat at ihop, theres a mexican restaurant some burger spot as well. Overall good spot to stay at

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds

Address: 118 E. Woodlawn Rd., Charlotte, NC 28217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Days Inn
Days Inn Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Woodlawn Rd. Near Carowinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.