We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Drury standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 W WT Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262 (Mineral Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not up to Drury standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at a number of Drury's Inn on a recent road trip because they are pet friendly and we had the pooch with us. Sadly, the at University Place is lagging behind the others. Firstly, the hotel and the room were clean but my wife felt there was a lingering pet odor in the room. The place needs an update....carpets are a bit worn, etc. At every other Drury we got a card fro 3 complimentary drinks. Here it was two, not three. And very very small servings in plastic cups. The food was the usual Drury fare......not much to be said about that. Staff was friendly

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your past stay with us. We value customer comments as we continuously strive to improve our services and operations. It is our goal to correct any guest concerns that are brought to our attention while they are still staying with us and I wish we would have had that opportunity to address your concerns during your stay. The property was recently renovated and that included replacement of the carpet and furnishings in the guestrooms. With your comments about the appearance and odor in your room, I would like to investigate this further to see if repairs are needed. We pride ourselves in offering pristine clean rooms at a value to our guests and this information will be shared with our team.

You had referenced the two drink versus three drink complimentary beverage card and unfortunately this is mandated by our state regulations that we only provide two alcoholic beverages per guest and all of the North Carolina properties comply with this. We thank you also for your feedback regarding our food offerings and presentation during our evening kickback. We as a company are always looking for ways to improve these guest amenities.

Again, I would like to thank you for your comments and I wish we would have had the opportunity to correct them while you were in house. I do ask that you give us a call at the hotel to let us know what room you stayed in so that we can address the observations you stated in your review and any other feedback you would like to share.

Warm regards,
Doug Uzelac
704.593.0700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    68
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
55
53
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife had to come to Charlotte for work. Our 14 month old and I tagged along. Our stay was wonderful! Every staff member was very pleasant and helpful. After we checked in we went back down to the front desk to see if they had any outlet covers. The manager said he would look around the front desk to see if they had some and bring them up to our room. 20 minutes the manager came up and had run to a nearby store to pick some up for us! Looking forward to staying at a Drury Inn our next trip!

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our first stay at a Drury Inn & Suites. The staff was very friendly and attentive during our entire stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. We really appreciated the hot breakfast and the complimentary popcorn, food and soft drinks

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay there. Staff are pleasant and knowledgeable. Free breakfast was great! Rooms are clean and quiet and there are also places to shop and dine in the area. Great inexpensive place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I am here for a concert. I wanted to get a room at a hotel near the venue. So I searched on line and saw this hotel. I have never stayed here before. The location was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very warm and inviting. The room was great and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. They had appetizers and drinks for us. It was nice. I had a great time and I am at the concert right now! Yeah!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

What can I say but fantastic Florence and Kristen and the rest of the staff treated us extremely well I couldn't of been more please with our stay and the service was top notch. The rooms well very clean the food once awesome especially the broccoli and cheese soup was bomb. If we are ever in this area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a suite with a king bed in one room and a pull out sofa bed in the other room for our son (who reports the sofa bed was better than others he has had to use on our trips). Rooms were very clean, quiet and well organized; good wifi, strong air conditioners that worked well in each room, nice bathroom, quick elevator, ample parking, and above average breakfast buffet. And the hotel was pet friendly!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Address: 415 W WT Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#45 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Charlotte, a city full of southern charm and home to the second largest banking headquarters in the United States. Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte North
Drury Inn Charlotte
Drury Inn Hotel Charlotte
Drury Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.