We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travel with our kids - excellent amenities, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 W WT Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262 (Mineral Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for travel with our kids - excellent amenities, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had never heard about this chain but saw some good reviews and booked it for part of our our vacation in North Carolina. Our room was excellent, clean and very spacious with plenty of room for our teenagers to spread out and relax. The best part for our family was the food - teenagers are always hungry. My son had "first" dinner at the hotel and then we would go out later enjoy one of the many choices in the surrounding area. One night we were all exhausted after a day at the National Whitewater Rafting Center and had enough food at the happy hour to call it dinner. We don't drink alcohol but is you do - two free drinks per person (and plenty of non-drinkers with tickets). Staff was great and honored any requests (extra towels in our case). Can't go wrong and now we specifically look for the Drury brand when traveling...just wish there were more!

Room Tip: We paid a little more for a two room suite - worth the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    66
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
51
20
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, S.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Drury inn where we stayed last Friday night, was clean and comfortable. They provided three free drinks per person and a variety of cold and hot foods, also free. A person could easily make a supper on these offerings. The free breakfast was also delicious. I feel that we really got our money's worth and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at Drury Inn and was very impressed. Frequently stay at Holiday Inns and this place was similar in comfort with a step up in style. Room very clean, big bathroom and comfortable beds. Pool and gaming area was great for the kids. Offers popcorn/soda bar for no extra cost. Large flat screen TVs. Delicious, free breakfast bar with lots of choices. Just wish there were more of these around.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on way back home to Canada .
Nicely appointed rooms, clean and good price. Included in price are 3 drinks and enough food for supper at night.
This is a great place for families .
Also near this hotel within walking distance are several good restaurants and a good mall.
Good choice for hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent one short night at this motel recently. I was attending a function in uptown Charlotte that started very early so needed a relaxing place for a short sleep and shower. As usual everything was clean and comfy making getting to sleep easy. This motel could update a few things in the rooms though, such as floor lamps that wobble and phones that sometimes don't work. But the beds and pillows are great. I never seem to catch the evening snack/meal time and this time due to my early departure I missed breakfast. I was fortunate to grap some juice on my way out which was a great help in getting the day started. Check-in and check-out was a breeze and the staff was friendly. I did have a coupon which got me a much better rate than usual for this 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

and this hotel was no exception. We find them comfortable and economical without exception. We checked in with a coupon for a rate of $61.00 plus tax. The room was comfortable and clean with all the amenities. Lots of electrical outlets to meet all our needs. We really like the dispensers in the bathroom for shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The indoor-outdoor pool was very favorable and I was able to do my one hour swim. Probably what we like best about Drury Inns is their 5:30 pm happy hour. Each person has a coupon for 3 drinks and we didn't need dinner after eating the food that was offered. hotdogs, chicken tenders, baked potatoes, mac and cheese, a salad bar and nacho bar and more. Breakfast was delicious. There was a big pot of cooked oatmeal like I haven't had since childhood along with eggs, sausages and numerous other items. Lastly, I would like to comment on the friendliness of the staff, especially Doug the manager who helped us with travel plans. Please open more Drury Inns.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

First time I ever heard of Drury was in a recent Consumer Report article. The Drury hotel chain came as "recommended" among most of the majors. Then I find myself staying at this Drury for a week on business.

Considering the price its pretty darn good.

Where else can you get a nice looking room, a free full breakfast in the morning and a Happy Hour with free drinks and hot food for a very inexpensive price? The front desk staff was very knowledgable. One morning we had the chance to talk with Ted one of the managers as he awaited the arrival of the corporate executives. The rooms are good quality and include very comfortable beds and chairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place

Address: 415 W WT Harris Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28262
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Mineral Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#46 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Charlotte, a city full of southern charm and home to the second largest banking headquarters in the United States. Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte North Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte North
Drury Inn Charlotte
Drury Inn Hotel Charlotte
Drury Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.