We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasted a Free Marriott Night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9230 Harris Corners Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28269   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #87 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wasted a Free Marriott Night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Be prepared to hear the words "I'm sorry" from the staff. The staff was unsure if the pool would be open because the maintenance man had been out of the office for three weeks. The pool was open but the hot tub did not work. The AC in room 313 did not blow cold and I pointed that out two times but no other room was available so we were hot all night. The breakfast area is a disaster area with all the people crowding into an area suited for 15 people fighting for free food. If you stay there you should plan to eat out for breakfast. The lady overseeing the breakfast area is a saint and works hard and cares for the guests...maybe she should run this hotel. NEVER AGAIN will my family stay at this Fairfield Inn.

Room Tip: Take WT Harris Blvd West across I-77 and stay at the Drury Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Brenda, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’ve been very fortunate that the past few weeks we’ve been selling out, or close to it each night. Chances are when you were with us it was one of those nights, which then turns into a busy morning at breakfast. We certainly love our breakfast attendant Catherine, she does a great job of making sure the food is stocked, the coffee is hot and everyone has enough to eat. One of the benefits of a Fairfield Inn is the free breakfast, and when all 93 of our rooms are booked and there are one to four people in a room, while we have convenient breakfast hours, it can get very busy. Our management at the hotel works very hard to make sure that every guest enjoys their stay with us. For instance you mentioned the hot tub, again with a sold out hotel, and lots of folks using the pool and hot tub especially, if you’ve ever owned a hot tub, you would know that it needs to be refilled from time to time since so many people go in and out, the water level decreases. It was simply a matter of us refilling the hot tub, which we did and it was back up and running in no time. While our maintenance man was out on his well-deserved and well-earned vacation, management at the hotel with the help from our corporate office did everything to not miss a beat. Our sales manager and front desk team even took turns cleaning the pool to make sure it would stay open and ready for guests.

Additionally, you had mentioned about your air conditioner; since the hotel was indeed full on the night you were with us, and with it being 90 degrees outside, all of our units were working overtime. With a sold out hotel, it is difficult to move a guest’s room as we assign rooms to try our best to meet each guest’s requests. As a General Manager I make sure my staff does their very best to keep all our guests happy, I invite you to personally call me at the hotel to discuss how we can make your next stay with us more enjoyable.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast experience our wonderful breakfast attendant Catherine. On your next stay we’ll make sure, the breakfast is ready, the coffee is hot, the hub tub is full, and hopefully it’s not as hot outside. I invite you back to give our hotel another try next time you are in the Charlotte area. We look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest again.
In the spirit of hospitality,
Brenda, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
8
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our Youth Group stayed at Fairfield Inn Northlake Friday-Sunday, July 26-29. We had a total of sixteen in our group and had five rooms. The location was excellent as we enjoyed a full day of rafting and fun at the US Whitewater Center. All of the staff at Fairfield were outstanding!!! They made us feel welcomed and valued during our stay. The location of the Fairfield was perfect for our group as well as it gave us a wide variety of places to eat and enjoy. We are planning a trip to Carowinds next year and we will return to the Fairfield.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Brenda, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It was our pleasure to have your group with us! Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we do our best to make sure everyone enjoys their time with us. There really is so much to do in the area, and are glad you were able to enjoy it as well. We look forward to having your group with us again next year as well!
In the spirit of hospitality,
Brenda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nine years ago, we spent a week at the Fairfield Marriott Northlake. At the time, there were a few infrastructure problems but the management assured us that we were just having bad luck. We decided to give the place another chance this year. We had another five-day stay. Upon arrival, we were told that the internet was down and might be back on "later in the night." This was not the greeting we were expecting. The internet did come back on late that night, but it was not so good. My husband, on his laptop, and I on my iPad, kept getting knocked off. Since this hotel is in a business park, I can see that this internet difficulty would present problems for business people who need to do work online.
On the second day of our stay, we came back from an outing to find a note under our door saying that there would be no hot water the following day between 10am and 6pm. I found this unusual for a hotel that carries the Marriott name. When I asked the people at the front desk if this was a normal occurrence, they told me I was just having bad luck. Maybe the same bad luck I had 9 years ago?
This is NOT a bad hotel--the location is good, the beds are comfortable, and it was quiet. The breakfast room lady was delightful and the housekeeping staff was efficient.
If the infrastructure problems could be fixed, this would be a very nice place.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little small . . . a family of four might be cramped if staying more than 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Brenda, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your stay, we are so glad that you decided to stay with us again on your get-away to Charlotte. On the night that you checked in, yes, our internet server had gone down temporarily; our provider had to send a specialty person to the hotel to resolve the issue. They ended up replacing the necessary component and it was up and running that night. While the hotel was sold out that night, surely everyone was trying to get back on at the same time and were all understanding.
During your stay you mentioned our hot water heater, and yes we did have it replaced. We decided it would be best to do it during the day while a majority of the guests including our corporate travelers, would be out of the hotel during the day. Our installers were done well before 6 p.m., since we were sold out this night as well. This is something that could happen at any hotel, and undoubtedly has, this time at our hotel it just so happened while you were in town, and we apologize that this was an inconvenience, but hope that you know that we truly fixed everything as quickly as we could. Our staff and management made every effort to make all our guests aware of what was going on, and to make sure that they had time to plan, and to get the hot water heater replaced as quickly as we could, and while our letter said 6 p.m. it was replaced well before that time.
Imagine our surprise when all of these individual items were occurring, it could be just like at your home when it seems like everything happens at once. The good news is that everything was up and running quickly. We take great pride in our hotel location, front desk team, our wonder breakfast attendant and all our amazing housekeepers. Our team works very hard together to make sure that everyone enjoys their time with us in Charlotte. We look forward to seeing you again sooner than 9 years this time!
In the spirit of hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

we came in to stay at the hotel the staff and management was awesome done a great job room was very clean I would highly recommend the hotel I was also impressed by the breakfast look forward to a return visit to the hotel

Room Tip: great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Brenda, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast! We take great pride in our hotel and look forward to your next stay with us!
In the spirit of hospitality,
Brenda, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while traveling, there was a storm coming and we needed to stop for the night. It was just fine - clean and very convenient to the highway. The room did have a funny smell, but it wasn't over powering or anything. The highlight (if there was one) of this hotel was the breakfast. The woman who maintains the breakfast area was amazing, so upbeat and cheerful, she was a pleasure. The food itself was fine, they did have microwavable breakfast sandwiches, and a waffle maker. They had yogurt and fruit cups too which was nice. My husband, 2 kids and I stayed in the hotel. Overall, its a good place to stay for the night while passing through, but not for any extended stay or anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Brenda, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for reminding us, as many guest have about Katherine our wonderful Breakfast attendent, she does a great job with breakfast! I'm glad your family enjoyed our yogurt and fruit cups.
We look forward to see you when you are traveling thourgh Charlotte again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I used Fairfield Inn Northlake to book a 15-room group for my reception guests and I must give credit where credit is due. Melissa Cuff, the group sales person, truly displayed customer service in a world that seems to have forgotten what that is! She was on top of things, responsive, patient, kind, thorough, and showed keen attention to detail. Working with her was a pleasure and Fairfield Inn Marriott is lucky to have her representing them! Camilla, one of the front desk staff, was also a huge help! She was also kind, on top of it, and has a great memory and dedication to customer service- her assistance cannot go unnoticed!

My guests said their check-in/check-out processes were a breeze (which is GREAT because it was a BUSY holiday weekend) and their rooms were clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Brenda, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experiences about our property during your groups stay. It was a true pleasure for us to be able to be part of your special event; we enjoyed having your family and friends with us as well! I am pleased your guest enjoyed their stay in our clean and comfortable hotel, as well as a great check in and out experience. Hopefully your guests were able to enjoy our breakfast each morning as well!
We are so lucky to have Melissa and Camila with us; they both do an outstanding job, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to be able to work with you in future for your hotel needs in Charlotte.
Stop by for a visit any time!

Sincerely,
Brenda, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay could not have been more fun. We had a great time and the staff at the hotel were great. The rooms clean and quiet, the staff attentive, accommodating and fun. We will go back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Brenda, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay! I am glad you enjoyed our staff, We enjoyed you just as much. We are here to help you have fun durning your stay.
I hope everyone else visiting us will enjoy our great hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake

Address: 9230 Harris Corners Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28269
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Fairfield Inn By Marriott Charlotte Northlake you can count on excellent service, a clean comfortable room, with great features and amenities to make your stay wonderful. Located on the North side of Charlotte, we are one of the closest hotels to the Northlake Mall. You will find us convenient whether you are in town for business, to visit family, attend one of our three NASCAR race events, cheer on the Carolina Panthers or Charlotte Bobcats or cruise and fish at Lake Norman. Charlotte has also become a favorite place to participate in one of the many amateur softball events held here. With convenient access to both I-77 and I-85, anywhere in the Charlotte Metro area is within easy reach. Come see why we have guests who make our location their favorite stopover when traveling to Florida, Myrtle Beach or Hilton Head for their annual vacation. We promise a great room, excellent service, and all the extras, at a great price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake Hotel Charlotte
Fairfield Charlotte
Charlotte Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Charlotte/Northlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.