We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOING ALL THE RIGHT THINGS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202 (First Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #42 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DOING ALL THE RIGHT THINGS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for 4 days for the CIAA finals. There were people EVERYWHERE. Fortunately, the hotel was ready for all of the action. They had ample staff on hand that were happy to meet our every need.. Despite all of the guests that were there to check-in, the check in process was easy and short. The room was clean and warm. The first night the heater started making a very loud noise, the manager came to our room, fixed the heater and promised to have the maint. crew there to check it out in the morning. And THEY WERE THERE as he promised. The cleaning staff was extremely friendly and thoughtful. The valet was a little pricey but very worth it as the wait time was very short. The only thing I did not like about the room was that the lavatory was located outside the bathroom.There was no privacy when it was time to wash your face, etc.The pillows were labeled soft or firm, That was excellent because my husband prefers a firm pillow and I prefer soft pillow.They were happy to change them daily. I really did like that perk. That made the few hours of sleep we did get just that much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid 14th floor at all cost. Guests will be entering and leaving the hospility room all times of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    127
    51
    27
    17
See reviews for
47
70
28
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ok...this hotel really got me. I had to make sure I walked into the right hotel. I could not believe that it was a Holiday Inn. The hotel was really nice with a cool and contemporary decor. The staff was very pleasant and best of all, it's across the street from the Time Warner Arena. My room looked like it was brand new with all new wood, sleek furniture. I later in the year returned to Charlotte, and stayed at different, more expensive hotel that was no were as nice as this hotel. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. We stayed one night to go to a NBA game. I loved that it was right across from the arena. Very upscale for a holiday inn. The pillows were labeled firm and soft and the decor was nice. Bath and body works toiletries were also a plus . The only downside for us was that the bathroom was very tiny. I am personally not a fan of bathrooms without a sink ( sink was in the main room), but this bathroom barely had enough room to change clothes in. Overall, it was a nice place. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was recently staying at this hotel for business. Due to the trip being a couple of weeks I brought my family with me. I am an IHG platinum member and I am used to being treated nice at hotels, and this trip exceeded my expectations. First I was upgraded to one of their executive rooms, basicly it was a similar room but just a bit bigger and had a sitting room. The downfall was that it was right next to the service elevator so that could get noisy but not terrible. The hotels location in the city is great it is only blocks from all of the major attractions, be careful though during an event the hotel gets crowded. On more than one occasion there was drunk people yelling at 1 am or so. All in all it was a pleasant experiance and if I had to stay in Charlotte I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed one night recently, and overall were very pleased. The location is great, the views of the tall buildings downtown impressive, the self-parking convenient, the staff friendly and helpful, and the bed hard and comfortable, but the thing that I'll remember the longest is the breakfast in the Cafe Siena the next morning. Very reasonably priced-including juice and coffee, eggs-and omelettes-made to order, as well as waffles and pancakes, it was much more than just a buffet. If we lived in the area, I would go there just for the breakfast. Really that good.

Room Tip: Wired internet available in the rooms, cable provided, you just have to look for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Spent one night on business. I booked the room last minute as i could not get a room at the other hotels i would have preferred. I stayed in an executive room. The room was great, staff were warm and friendly. I was impressed and would definitely stay again as a first choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Definitely the nicest Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at, in fact, I only knew it was a Holiday Inn from the signage.
Its a very well run hotel and the staff is super conscientious and helpful with excellent customer service.
The place is immaculate from the lobby to the hallways and other common areas to my room.
They have a great breakfast included and also an included cocktail hour with appetizers and drinks.
There is an additional restaurant /bar in the hotel which was also quite solid so it is nice to have a place right there if you don't have the time or desire to venture out.

Good place to stay if you are in the part of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Address: 230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a little uptown ambience. Uptown always means style, class, and maybe even a little attitude. Uptown Charlotte blends arts, events and entertainment with the prestigious setting of the second largest financial center in the U.S. The Holiday Inn Charlotte Center City hotel is located in the heart of Uptown and Charlotte’s Business and Entertainment District. We are only a short walk from dozens of restaurants, entertainment, retail shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Center City
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.