We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UPTOWN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202 (First Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #62 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“UPTOWN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here with a couple of buddies for a guys get away. The hotel is smack dap in the heart of Uptown Charlotte. We went to the Charlotte Bobcats NBA game and it was literally a 1 minute walk to Time Warner Cable Arena. All kinds of Uptown entertainment is right at your disposal. The Lynx light rail train is also right there to take you to locations that are a little further. By the way, the room was very nice and so was the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    174
    70
    33
    21
See reviews for
59
93
30
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I'm just completing my stay here for a combination business/mini vacation trip. You couldn't ask for a more convenient location for exploring uptown Charlotte, so many wonderful restaurants, pubs and attractions within easy walking distance. The staff here are polite, friendly, and helpful.

I was pleasantly suprised to be upgraded to a concierge floor, the 15th floor. Since the majority of my visit was on the weekend, I wasn't able to fully appreciate the lounge, but it sure was nice to be able to grab a glass of wine and some snacks after a long Thursday road trip. The breakfast on Friday was also pleasant, the usual continental choices and included little mini-omlettes and great OJ and coffee.

The rooms have been upgraded, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, sink and mirror outside of the bathroom. The air conditioning unit is noisy when the fan is running but it's fairly easy to achieve a comfortable temperature with limited fan noise. Parking is $15/day but you can take your car in and out as much as you want. Overall a pleasant stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Like most people I know, I associate Holiday Inn with older hotels, but not this one. It is very modern. The lobby was so flashy I had to ask if I was in the right place. The front desk staff was fun and playful and really took the time to explain everything to me regarding parking and things to do. It is walking distance from anything worth doing in downtown Charlotte and whatever you can't walk to their shuttle with take you... FOR FREE. Great place. Great staff. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Sinks outside of bathroom. It didn't bother me but it took some getting use to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I attended a convention in late October and stayed at the Holliday Inn. The hotel was 5 blocks from the convemtion center. This let me get up close and personal with people of Charlotte as I walked to and from the convention center. I felt safe at all times. The staff at the hotel was great and very attentive to my needs. The young lady on the 10th floor houskeeping was more than outstanding. If and when my travels take me bakc to Charlotte, I will stay at the Holliday Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Herst Tower. The building exterior is lighted at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Most of the better hotels appear to be clustered in the downtown, which is very walkable. If you want more of a mid-range chose this is a great choice. It is dated, but is a good deal. I got my room for around $70 a night on Priceline plus fees. If you want good location and good value, this is a great choice. Very nice staff as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our organization held a productive business meeting in a quite and friendly environment. We were delighted by the staff's positive attitude and delicious meal. Overall our group was very happy with the services provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Service and value mean a lot to me and cleanliness is where I draw the line. I know things can go wrong, I also know things can be fixed. When I let the staff know about issues in my room and leave for the rest of the day I expect them to be fixed when I return. I also expected they would care when I told them they were not. So much for my expectations. Maybe I'm just spoiled by hotels that care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Third Ward
Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Fourth Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Hilton Charlotte Center City
#54 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Address: 230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a little uptown ambience. Uptown always means style, class, and maybe even a little attitude. Uptown Charlotte blends arts, events and entertainment with the prestigious setting of the second largest financial center in the U.S. The Holiday Inn Charlotte Center City hotel is located in the heart of Uptown and Charlotte’s Business and Entertainment District. We are only a short walk from dozens of restaurants, entertainment, retail shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Center City
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.