We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to Time Warner Arena :)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202 (First Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #58 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Close to Time Warner Arena :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Attended an Event in Charlotte and stayed at this hotel. The event was held at the Time Warner Arena and to that effect hotel was a 4 minute walk, PERFECT!

The hotel is an older hotel, has had some upgrades but some of the upgrades were not thought through... The shower/toilet installation were a little odd as we had to force the door past the toilet to close the door as the toilet is in the way when closing the door... This is a very small room, there is a fan but it did not work :( The sink appointment is very unusual, a large bowl on top of the counter and a very stiff lever on the tap created lots of water spill over the bowl and all over the counter as the tap went from off to fire hose. Very little space for anything on the counter, not very functional. There is certainly enough space in that room that they could have created a larger, more functional counter space at the sink.

We were unfortunate enough to get a room right in front of the elevators and our room window was on 5th Street so lots of noise ALL NIGHT LONG.

On the positive side, bed was very comfortable, pillow were JUST okay. The "regular" room don't have a fridge in them, they charge $15/day for a tiny little fridge... Rooms are a good size, staff was friendly and Cafe Sienna was amazing! Food was great, prices were reasonable.

I'm not sure I would stay at the hotel again but I would definately come back to eat at Cafe Sienna. I've stayed at the Omni, the Marriott and the Hyatt House in Charlotte, my least favorite hotel I would have to say would be the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators, see if you can stay on the UPPER floors, more benefits and fridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Suzanne02219210,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Charlotte and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities are superior and strive to be the best around the area. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    164
    67
    30
    20
See reviews for
56
88
29
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The only thing good this hotel is its location in downtown Charlotte. I found hair on the beds and bathroom floor. The beds are hard as a rock. I just went to workout on the rooftop gym...both treadmills and the elliptical trainer were broken. The TV is basic cable no movies or HD channels. The sink area is not in the bathroom, but in the room itself on a small vanity by the door. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear J C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the location.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from housekeeping, the hard bed and the broken fitness center equipment. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had my wedding at the Holiday Inn on September 16, 2012 on the Rooftop Rotunda. Tabitha and the entire HICC team went above and beyond to make my day so BEAUTIFUL!! They catered to my every need and made me feel like a queen on my day! The ceremony was gorgeous and the view on the rooftop was breathtaking. The food was delicious and the service was five star!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We're young professionals who traveled from out of town to see a Panthers game. To experience a full day of football fun, we showed up about three and a half hours early, knowing full well that we might not be able to check-in yet. The front desk staff was awesome, checking to see if anything was available. We got a King room on the 15th floor of 15 right away! Room was clean--great view. Water bottles, clean towels, quiet floor. The location of the hotel is perfect for games and downtown nightlife fun. The lounge drink menu was a bit too pricey for us--we'd bring our own wine next time ($10-$14/glass)!! And we slept in, so we missed breakfast, but overall, everything was smooth and wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Room, location etc. wonderful..... service when our stay was recognized as a reward night went downhill. I requested a late checkout and at first the desk person's body language was positive; as in... "no problem". Then she pulled up my room info and commented under her breath "reward night" and looked at me and gave me the... I'm sorry but we are unable to accomodate you speal. Not a postive experience for a loyal supporter of the brand!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear jimbo1117,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The staff is attentive and fast, they are very friendly people and seem knowledgable. The location is great, just down the road from the bus center and the epicenter - walk able to everywhere downtown. Loved my stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester,sc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is in the middle of everything. Entertainment, bars, restaurants are within walking distance. The rooftop pool is superb with awesome views of downtown Charlotte. The hotel was a wonderful breakfast buffet for approx. $15.00. The light rail system is just a few steps away from the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Address: 230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#52 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a little uptown ambience. Uptown always means style, class, and maybe even a little attitude. Uptown Charlotte blends arts, events and entertainment with the prestigious setting of the second largest financial center in the U.S. The Holiday Inn Charlotte Center City hotel is located in the heart of Uptown and Charlotte’s Business and Entertainment District. We are only a short walk from dozens of restaurants, entertainment, retail shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Center City
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.