We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122 (Third Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 173 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here during the CIAA (a big collegiate) basketball tournament event during the last week of February into March. This tournament generates a lot of money for the city of Charlotte and the hotels. Double Tree hotel was clean and the staff were exceptionally polite, professional and friendly. My only complaint is the hotel is not handicapped accessible in my book. The only way to access the hotel is to be dropped off at the main entrance. If you are a handicapped driver you will have to risk taking the garage ramp which in my opinion is not safe for a non handicapped person let alone one who is handicapped. I'm not handicapped but I am sensitive to those who are and after inquiring at the front desk, I was told that the garage ramp was in compliant.

This hotel is not centrally located like some of the other downtown hotels. It would probably take 15 minutes to walk to the core of the downtown area. You better be in good shape and wear sneakers. The terrain is not flat, you will be walking uphill. Thank goodness for the free shuttle bus but beware of it's hour of operation. There are only two elevators in this hotel and this is a pretty big highrise hotel. Cost wise, I'm sure DoubleTree increased their rates to fleece their guests as this was a HUGE weekend event. Would you believe NASCAR guests' cost is cheaper than the $209 we paid per night, NASCAR room rates - $129 and $163/nite which includes 2 tickets to NASCAR Hall of Frame. Example of being fleeced - BIG TIME!!!

The hotel is showing it's age, the tub area needed caulking, the toilet tissue roll is behind the bathroom door, and the room was very warm. We literally had the AC on during a snow showers, yes it snowed while we were in Charlotte!! The rooms are quiet or sound proof to some degree. While in our room, I couldn't hear our toilet flush or the shower running. However, we could hear the cleaning crew outside of the room. There is a charge to use the internet in your room although they claimed if you are a Hilton Honors member it's free. NOT, only free if you are a Gold Honors Member.

The breakfast menu was good. The best part of our stay were the incredible, delectable, delicious, yummy ever so slightly warm melt in your mouth chocolate chip cookies. OMG!! These cookies are scrumptious and addictive. All that was missing was a nice cold glass of milk. The cookies were so good that I purchased a tin to take home. Yummy!!!

Would I stay here again - YES, just for the cookies!

Room Tip: 5th floor was nice but warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leland, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely night at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Charlotte. The staff was great and the room was wonderful. This was a much needed getaway for us both!!! The location of the property was close to "Uptown" Charlotte. The room was beautiful and we slept very well. Upon check in and departure the staff provided excellent customer service and some insight to making reservations for special event weekends. From the parking garage to the room, we felt secure and the entire property was very well kept. We will return on any future trips to the area!

Room Tip: Close proximity to Charlotte's Uptown attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinibell_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy a much needed weekend getaway. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The room was very quiet so I got a good night of sleep. My meetings where in city central so the location wasn't great for me (10-15 minute walk). I would recommend the hotel to anyone who needs a good hotel in uptown Charlotte.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationLoverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for staying here with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice - it's in a quiet location on University grounds, close to public transportation and some amenities - but I'm not a fan of hotels charging for wifi in this day and age. It should be included in the room rate. The fee wasn't that high compared to some places, but still. As for the hotel though, the rooms were comfortable and the lady working at the bar was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. There's also a very nice bar up the street if that's you're sort of thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). In regards to the internet we will forward your comments to our DoubleTree Brand team for them to review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Doubletree and had a wonderful stay. Hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The warm walnut chocolate chip cookies at check-in were a pleasant surprise .

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LC_968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). We will keep the cookies warm for you until you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable and convenient. Just don't eat at the restaurant. On a Friday evening there was very little staff. No one to seat you and no sign directing you to seat yourself. When we finally were seated it took 15 min to get a server and 45 minutes to get our food order. The food was good but cold (probably because it sat around since servers were hard to find). If you are hungry would recommend you eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that your overall impression of our hotel was positive, but am very sorry that your dinner experience was unsatisfactory. I truly appreciate your comments. I have reviewed them with our Food and Beverage Manager and appropriate action has been taken to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you for your review and please feel free to contact me personally when I may be of service or assistance to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past 2 months for business. The first trip, I was there for 2 weeks. A month later, I was there for another week. When I arrived for the second trip, the front desk staff recognized me, making sure there was a refrigerator in my room because they knew I wanted one. I loved the room, the service and exercise room. My only caveat is that they charge $15 for the breakfast buffet, which I find pretty pricey for what is offered. Overall though, I enjoyed my stays. I know I would stay there again even if I weren't on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Hall279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our Front Desk Team were helpful! I’ll be sure to share your comments with them. See you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#44 of 173 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Hilton Charlotte Center City
#52 of 173 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing