We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122 (Third Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Package!
Ranked #41 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here during the CIAA (a big collegiate) basketball tournament event during the last week of February into March. This tournament generates a lot of money for the city of Charlotte and the hotels. Double Tree hotel was clean and the staff were exceptionally polite, professional and friendly. My only complaint is the hotel is not handicapped accessible in my book. The only way to access the hotel is to be dropped off at the main entrance. If you are a handicapped driver you will have to risk taking the garage ramp which in my opinion is not safe for a non handicapped person let alone one who is handicapped. I'm not handicapped but I am sensitive to those who are and after inquiring at the front desk, I was told that the garage ramp was in compliant.

This hotel is not centrally located like some of the other downtown hotels. It would probably take 15 minutes to walk to the core of the downtown area. You better be in good shape and wear sneakers. The terrain is not flat, you will be walking uphill. Thank goodness for the free shuttle bus but beware of it's hour of operation. There are only two elevators in this hotel and this is a pretty big highrise hotel. Cost wise, I'm sure DoubleTree increased their rates to fleece their guests as this was a HUGE weekend event. Would you believe NASCAR guests' cost is cheaper than the $209 we paid per night, NASCAR room rates - $129 and $163/nite which includes 2 tickets to NASCAR Hall of Frame. Example of being fleeced - BIG TIME!!!

The hotel is showing it's age, the tub area needed caulking, the toilet tissue roll is behind the bathroom door, and the room was very warm. We literally had the AC on during a snow showers, yes it snowed while we were in Charlotte!! The rooms are quiet or sound proof to some degree. While in our room, I couldn't hear our toilet flush or the shower running. However, we could hear the cleaning crew outside of the room. There is a charge to use the internet in your room although they claimed if you are a Hilton Honors member it's free. NOT, only free if you are a Gold Honors Member.

The breakfast menu was good. The best part of our stay were the incredible, delectable, delicious, yummy ever so slightly warm melt in your mouth chocolate chip cookies. OMG!! These cookies are scrumptious and addictive. All that was missing was a nice cold glass of milk. The cookies were so good that I purchased a tin to take home. Yummy!!!

Would I stay here again - YES, just for the cookies!

Room Tip: 5th floor was nice but warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    149
    63
    18
    6
See reviews for
92
67
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely night at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Charlotte. The staff was great and the room was wonderful. This was a much needed getaway for us both!!! The location of the property was close to "Uptown" Charlotte. The room was beautiful and we slept very well. Upon check in and departure the staff provided excellent customer service and some insight to making reservations for special event weekends. From the parking garage to the room, we felt secure and the entire property was very well kept. We will return on any future trips to the area!

Room Tip: Close proximity to Charlotte's Uptown attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy a much needed weekend getaway. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The room was very quiet so I got a good night of sleep. My meetings where in city central so the location wasn't great for me (10-15 minute walk). I would recommend the hotel to anyone who needs a good hotel in uptown Charlotte.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for staying here with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice - it's in a quiet location on University grounds, close to public transportation and some amenities - but I'm not a fan of hotels charging for wifi in this day and age. It should be included in the room rate. The fee wasn't that high compared to some places, but still. As for the hotel though, the rooms were comfortable and the lady working at the bar was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. There's also a very nice bar up the street if that's you're sort of thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). In regards to the internet we will forward your comments to our DoubleTree Brand team for them to review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Doubletree and had a wonderful stay. Hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The warm walnut chocolate chip cookies at check-in were a pleasant surprise .

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). We will keep the cookies warm for you until you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable and convenient. Just don't eat at the restaurant. On a Friday evening there was very little staff. No one to seat you and no sign directing you to seat yourself. When we finally were seated it took 15 min to get a server and 45 minutes to get our food order. The food was good but cold (probably because it sat around since servers were hard to find). If you are hungry would recommend you eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that your overall impression of our hotel was positive, but am very sorry that your dinner experience was unsatisfactory. I truly appreciate your comments. I have reviewed them with our Food and Beverage Manager and appropriate action has been taken to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you for your review and please feel free to contact me personally when I may be of service or assistance to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past 2 months for business. The first trip, I was there for 2 weeks. A month later, I was there for another week. When I arrived for the second trip, the front desk staff recognized me, making sure there was a refrigerator in my room because they knew I wanted one. I loved the room, the service and exercise room. My only caveat is that they charge $15 for the breakfast buffet, which I find pretty pricey for what is offered. Overall though, I enjoyed my stays. I know I would stay there again even if I weren't on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our Front Desk Team were helpful! I’ll be sure to share your comments with them. See you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#33 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#38 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.