We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122 (Third Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Package!
Ranked #40 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Land O Lakes FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for the ACC championship game. The front desk staff was friendly and accomodating! We were greeted with a smile and a warm cookie at check-in!! Our room was CLEAN and perfect. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great. It was in the PERFECT location! About 1 mile walk from the BOA stadium and downtown restaurants. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). Hope your team won the game. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    152
    64
    19
    6
See reviews for
94
69
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great place. The staff are quite courteous -- meaning that I was always greeted with sincere smiles, by name after a day or so, and interactions were sincere. I think that this is the best one can ask for in customer service. I was using public transport during my visits, so having Gold Rush line nearby for free into downtown was a real bonus. It is pretty quiet, peaceful at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your comments put a smile on my face. I am so happy that you had a wonderful experience at our property. WE look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is very good in room conditions, staff, and external environment. Although it locates at the boundarty of the uptown, it only takes 20-30 minutes' walk to the city center because the city Charlotte is small. There are bus stops in front of the hotel.
The only problem is the you can hear cleaurly the voice from the corridor, and sometimes from your neighboor room...
Generally it is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for staying here with us. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great facility. Staff and service could not have been better. Probably the best Sunday brunch that we have ever had at any hotel. I would certainly go back and would reccomend it to anyone with complete confidence. Location is great for entertainment ,dining and shopping while in the Charlotte area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Your comments about your stay with us made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable. So glad you enjoyed your brunch. Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

26 dollars to park in their garage, something Inherently wrong with that. I guess I could have parked 4 blocks away and let the locals have their way with my 45k dollar automobile. The hotel was nice I just think thats a bit excessive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Please know that our parking rates are competitive with all hotels in Uptown Charlotte, in most cases we are lower.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was at the Hotel for a business trip, the Staff was friendly, the Valet service was great and the room was a good place to relax and set up nicely for working. I would recommend this hotel for anyone that needs close proximity to the interstate for daily travel in the Charlotte area, and a place close enough to Downtown without the hassle of traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I arrived Friday afternoon right at 3:00 PM. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient, offering two of their signature cookies for my and my travel companion. My room was ready and I was able to park in their parking deck using my room key. The room was spacious and very clean. It had a comfortable bed, good size bathroom, desk space and a flat screen TV. Checkout on Saturday at 11:00 AM was super quick - I was at the desk no longer than 3 minutes.

The hotel overall was quiet and exceptionally clean. All staff that I came in contact with was friendly and helpful and most importantly courteous. My only complaint was the price for parking (about $5 cheaper would seem more reasonable), although that would not keep me from staying here again. I wish all my hotel experiences could be like this one!

The hotel was within walking distance to the heart of Uptown (approx. 5 blocks). I walked to dinner and back with no problem. I highly recommend this property and will certainly be staying here during my next trip to Charlotte.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billdeloache, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff knocked your socks off and that the property offered you the just right amount of space for you to spread out and relax. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village

Address: 895 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#37 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.