We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time staying, and it was equally pleasant both times.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
A TripAdvisor Member
“Second time staying, and it was equally pleasant both times.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Enjoyed my stay both times. This hotel is very clean and is in a great location via downtown accommodation. I was suggested to this hotel on my first stay and was very pleased. On my second stay, I was actually a walk in on a very busy event weekend. Not actually thinking they would have a room because of the busy event, I was surprised with a quick and courteous check in. This stay was just as nice as my first stay and I will definitely be staying here again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice and convenient stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    178
    87
    32
    25
See reviews for
192
125
51
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

La Quinta is a hotel name that we look for when traveling. Although this was not the worst one we have seen it was not the best either. If we were paying the bargain price of $59 a night then I would have no complaints. From the outside & lobby area and prices charged for 2 rooms we expected our rooms to be cleaner & better maintained. There also seemed to be smoking in areas where it was marked "no smoking" (smell). The front desk staff was very friendly and attentive. We arrived around 6pm - went to dinner - slept one night & got up early to leave for Florida.

Room Tip: Parking spaces were very tight - try to park at the end of a row and hug the curb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is solid. It is close to the train to uptown Charlotte, very good affordable!
Airport shuttle helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. Like the free wireless internet and the friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel didn't seem to be too bad on the outside. It is near a plethora of other hotels. It is nice that they take in dogs (as do all La Quintas) as we had one. The room itself could've used some updates...at least new carpet. The carpet was stained a filthy. I'm not a fan of walking on hotel bathroom floors barefoot, in fact I just don't, and I didn't even walk barefoot on the carpeted floor in this room. The staff was nice and the breakfast was adequate. For our purposes it worked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here on the night of January 28. I did choose this hotel expressly because they offered the shuttle service to the airport. When I checked in I saw the notice alerting that there could be a problem with the shuttle due to the forecasted bad weather. In fact the forecast was for snow until 9:00 a.m. next morning, and that could have been a problem. Fortunately the snow stopped around 9-10 p.m. the same day and the morning after the situation was quite normal, with just some snow but nothing more.
I was very surprised to hear from the front desk that the shuttle was not operating. The person there talked about black ice. There was no black ice at all, the only black thing was the clean asphalt on the road! Other guests were surprised and upset also.
So I was forced to call a taxi, for which I had to pay. When I reached the airport I noticed, with not much surprise, that all the other shuttles were perfectly working. I saw with my eyes the ones of Clarion, Ramada, Holiday Inn, Omni Hotel, Marriott Courtyard and some others I can not remember the name.
I think that there was no reason at all to stop the shuttle. They created a problem to me and to other guests. When I asked to talk to the manager they told me that he/she was coming at 9:00 o’ clock. On such a day I think it should have been his/her duty to be there earlier.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQGS, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent experience at our La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte - Airport South. We're sorry that we disappointed you with the shuttle sevice situation. We'll be discussing this situation with our management team to ensure that our team is better equipped to handle this type of situation in the future. We appreciate your comments, and thank you for providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is a great value, close to the airport and it's easy to drive to the center of Charlotte from here. They welcome pets and do not charge a fee for pets. Our room was beautifully appointed and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is the most spacious I've seen with plenty of tables. The breakfast offerings were also very good, and the staff kept the breakfast area spotless and well supplied.

Room Tip: We were in room 106 which is next to the fitness room and overlooks the pool. Although we did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Montclaire South
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South

Address: 4900 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South Hotel Charlotte
La Quinta Inn And Suites Charlotte Airport South
La Quinta Charlotte
Charlotte La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.