We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Sarasota FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Adequate, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located off I-77 and all LaQuinta properties are pet friendly which is why we chose it. The room we had was OK, but the bathroom was very tired looking - cracked floor tiles and a large crack in the sink. The tub did not have a flat bottom - this sounds odd, but if someone had mobility issues they would have a hard time standing while showering - never saw this before. The bed was comfortable and the room "appeared" clean, but my dog could sense that other dogs had "used" the room. Very quiet - good soundproofing, despite being on the first floor. Would not stay here if I didn't have a dog. Other chain hotels provide better human amenities for the same price. On the plus side, La Quinta does not charge for your pet as other chains do. The staff was pleasant and helpful at check-in and the breakfast is comparable to other chains but not served until 7 on Sundays.

This was my second stay at a LaQuinta property and both times I've been underwhelmed. The ranking of #24 out of 166 hotels is Charlotte has me wondering what the other 142 hotels are like.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    119
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
126
83
36
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed 4 nights while we were looking for an apartment for her.The staff were over the top friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The WI FI worked well in our room, there is a computer in the lobby with a printer for patrons to use. The complementary breakfast set up was good and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came to do some Christmas shopping in Charlotte and we needed a place that would take dogs. We have a 50-lb lab mix who doesn't do well when boarded. We've stayed at this hotel before and were very impressed. Same thing this year. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the hotel is very clean and bright, the breakfast room is large and inviting and the breakfast is good. It is located close to the Southpark Mall where we were shopping. It is also very convenient to the airport. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a pretty nice place to stay if you are traveling with a dog. It is very pet friendly and they do not charge a pet fee. It is close to I-77 and easy to find. There are several places nearby to get take out. Breakfast was pretty good; cereal, bagels, muffins, make your own waffles etc. The room showed a little wear but probably from having pets in the same rooms (my guess). Use the side street to walk your pet; there are a lot of "distractions" right around the hotel from the animals who "go" right out the door. There are doggie bags in dispenser at the back end of the rear parking All in all, not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pet- friendly but no place to walk the dog! Nice linens and towels, comfy beds, lots of human hair left in bathroom and tub, quiet, breakfast ok, staff not knowledgeable about local area. Elevator very slow, ice not available on every floor.

Room Tip: 4 th floor very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had an excellent stay at this property and after four years of annual travel to Charlotte and hopping around to different hotels every year- I think I finally have a hotel to stick with. The location can't be beat (right off of I-77 and on Tryon) and neither can the rooms for the price. The room I stayed in was very clean and the towels were very good quality. I did appreciate the fact that I didn't seem to hear any airplane noise which was a bonus considering how close to the airport we actually were.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I enjoyed my stay. Good sized, clean and comfortable room. Reasonably priced. No pet fee which is awesome. There were other dogs staying on my floor but either they were very well behaved or the walls are very well insulated. I didn't hear any noise once the door was closed. I'll definitely consider La Quinta when I go on another trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South

Address: 4900 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28217
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#26 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#40 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South Hotel Charlotte
La Quinta Inn And Suites Charlotte Airport South
La Quinta Charlotte
Charlotte La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.