We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect from a Residence Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5816 Westpark Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217 (Montclaire South)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shop n' Stay
Ranked #56 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What you expect from a Residence Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a friends wedding. Like every other Residence Inn it looks and feels the same. The staff are strong. The accommodations are what they need to be. The location works well with lots of food options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We were glad to hear that our Residence Inn represents the Brand well and that our Staff are knowledgeable and trained in what they do. We hope you had a great time at the wedding! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
54
34
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family of four just came back from a three night stay at this hotel. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath, suite with a working fireplace and full kitchen, inlcuding dishwasher. I would highly recommend this hotel.

First the front desk staff (inlcuding management) were extremely polite, pleasant and helpful Everyone in the hotel was friendly. Every employee that you passed said hello or inquired if you needed anything. Reception was welcoming and warm. While we did not partake, apparently there are manager specials every week night where you are offered beverages and snacks.

Next, the free breakfast was delicious. We were only anticiapting a continental breakfast, such as bagels and danish, and were surprised to see a buffet of sausage, eggs, breakfast burritos (with ample fixings) and the like. There was a waffle station, yogurt, parfaits, danish, muffins and a number of different cereal options. There were at least three different coffee options and many teas available. There was also orange and apple juice and milk.

In addition, the rooms were well appointed and extremely clean. Our room reminded me of a small apartment. There were ample supplies offered in the kitchen including pots, pans, dishes, mugs, etc, dishwashing soap and dishwasher detergent. There was also a coffee maker, microwave, full size fridge and plenty of cabinet space for an extended stay. I cannot stress enough how clean the rooms are - not even a streak on the mirrors in the bathroom! There were three large flat screen tvs,(one in each bedroom and one in the living room area). The beds were comfortable and each bed came with lots of pillows. The rooms came equipped with paul mitchell shampoo and conditioner (which was re-supplied daily), and soaps. There were plenty of towels that were changed daily (or not, if you wished). We found the hotel to be very quiet.

Next, the grounds are well maintained and clean . While it was not open (January), there is a nice in ground pool, with tennis courts and a grill. The area appeared very safe and secure. Parking was ample and close to our entrance.

The location is great. There were a few restaurants within walking distance. There is plenty to do within a short drive. We took the light rail into the city of Charlotte and had a lovely time going to museums and restaurants and shopping.

In sum, this is a wonderful, welcoming hotel, with friendly staff that is close to everything. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you to the staff of Residence Inn for making our short getaway, so nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing such a thorough review. We are very happy your time with us was great and that we met your family's needs. We hope you will visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NC
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

It is a cold, heavily rainy evening with freezing sleet and snow predicted. My flight was just cancelled, and I am LOVING this old style Res Inn....because the room has a fireplace. Everything else is secondary...but to give a full rounded review -

This is an older chalet style property, but they have added a new, dorm style building. So take your pick when you make your reservation. I don't mind the chalet style, so always take one of these rooms, I like the EZ access. They are slightly, very very slightly, run down. But very clean, well maintained, and the price was in line with condition. Check in was quick, and staff pleasant.

There are several restaurants in almost walkable distance. A major high end mall with some phenomenal restaurants is a few miles down the road. A standard mall with chain restaurants is a few miles in the other direction. Carowinds is nearby, as is downtown. The airport is less than 5 miles, and the intersection of I85 and I77 is equidistant. All in all, a centralized location with hop on/hop off accessibility to 77.

All things considered, I would definitely stay here again. Especially on a cold rainy night...because, did I mention? Many rooms have a fireplace.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We see that you are a seasoned traveler. We appreciate your honest, well rounded review highlighting the different buildings we have for different preferences. And yes, it is nice that most our suites have fireplaces. Our original buildings have working fireplaces while our newer building has gas fireplaces. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The other reviews must be fake! After staying a night a this place, I am convinced that they paid someone to write good reviews. This place is old, outdated, & the "renovations" that took place several years ago are blinded by the 1980's stove, rusted fridge that makes loud noises every couple hours. Good luck getting any sleep at this place! For the money they they charge, you could stay some place much nicer! This is the bottom of the barrel of Residence Inn's & quite frankly surprised that Marriott has its name on this location...Its more like a Motel 8!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest, we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are an extended stay property and we specialize in accommodating long term guests staying for special projects and trainings. Since you stayed only one night, you may not have interacted with our staff since you made no mention of them. They are a fantastic staff and that is what our previous reviewers make mention of since most of them spent more than one night with us. Our last renovation was in 2006 and yes we are due for another one this year and all that you mentioned will be replaced. Perhaps you would have been happier in Building 11 since this building was built in 2000 and houses our One and Two Bedroom Suites. Our appliances are newer and the rooms are more typical of the other Residence Inns you may have stayed in. Some guests prefer our condo/apartment style suites when staying long term. They feel like apartments. Many who travel for just a few days prefer our newer building (Bldg 11) that is 3 stories. Again, we are very sorry. Please contact me if you would like to discuss further. - Tina Crossland, 704-319-3571
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, al
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Excellent service from the front desk to housekeeping to breakfast. It is obvious all employees care about the relationship with the customer. Say "Hi" to Ms. Winkler at the front desk for me. I'll stay here again when in the Charlotte area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn C, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your review and glad you felt well cared for. The Staff at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte South at I-77 & Tyvola Rd cares very much for their guests whether they are staying one night or 3 months. We're happy to hear you experience that. Please come stay with us again when you are in Charlotte.

Sincerely,
Residence Inn Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This is such a wonderful hotel. The staff is kind and very friendly. When we are in the area we make sure to stay at this hotel. The breakfast is great and we know it will be a nice breakfast because they have great food and very nice staff. Friendly atmosphere. Clean nice rooms. Beautiful place. I felt secure and relaxed. To be able to feel at home when your away home is a wonderful feel!! We thank all the people for all the done for us.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and just needed a reasonably priced room that did not have a two night minimum stay like the wedding block hotels had. This residence inn was perfectly reasonable. It had a small kitchen, an area for a couch a chair and a tv, and the bed area and the bathroom. It was clean and well kept. It's located right off the highway so it's convenient but not close to the downtown area nor is it in a walkable neighborhood. I thought the bed was very soft so I was glad it wasn't a particularly long stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road

Address: 5816 Westpark Drive, Charlotte, NC 28217
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Rd provides spacious suites, convenient amenities and excellent service at a great value! We are within walking distance to Charlotte Light Rail, providing easy access to Uptown Charlotte, and only minutes away from attractions like Carowinds Theme Park, Bank of America Stadium and many Corpoate offices in Charlotte. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, free high speed internet and weekly manager's receptions at our pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte South At i-77/Tyvola Road Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.