We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel Hill University Inn

Save Saved
You added Chapel Hill University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 N. Fordham Blvd., Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Wanaque, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A friend and I traveled from NJ to help my son just moved into an apartment in Chapel Hill. While being somewhat familiar to the area, I was not aware of the Chapel Hill University Inn. From our entrance,into the lobby, I knew it was going to be a fun stay. The decor is a dedication to NC University sports teams and was filled with Tar Heels products and signs. It was a cozy and welcoming lobby where everyone was very friendly. The rate was incredible which made the experience even better. We were placed in a room in the baseball section overlooking the pool. The room was clean and nicely decorated. We did have a problem with the hair dryer but service quickly came up and fixed it.
The hotel is located close to stores, restaurants, and the main stip of Franklin Avenue.
We took advantage of the free breakfast included one morning and found it to be excellent. The girl working was accommodating and made sure we had whatever we needed. There was fruit, cereal, bagels, waffles, and more. We also used the pool our second day and it was so enjoyable. The area provides tables, chairs, pool toys, and towels.
I will definitely be back and will be bringing my 12 year old who I know will love the experience.. You couldnt ask for a better hotel in the area offering the atmosphere, the cleanliness, the friendly staff,, and the great price..

Room Tip: Pool view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    43
    28
    27
    23
See reviews for
61
20
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was necessary, because our daughter had an emergency surgery and the entire family needed a place to stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Thanks again for giving us a discount since the Ronald McDonald house was full

Room Tip: Inexpensive and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there for 2 nights this summer. Upon arrival, the exterior seemed very dated.
However, the rate was good so I decided to keep my online reservation.
I was told that my room had been "upgraded."
when I found this corner room, # 121, a nonsmoking one, it was a few meters from
the pool. The room was comfortable even though dated. The biggest problem
was the room location. There was a gazebo just in frontbof my room. The corner
position and the gazebo sitting area both created a lot of noise!

Room Tip: Do not go to a downstairs corner room near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is dated, but I like that it is not a chain and has personal touches. I stayed on the courtyard by the pool. Beautiful plants, a gazebo with Adirondack chairs, a nice pool. The room was clean and basic with two comfortable beds and a TV, ref. microwave. I upgraded for the club level breakfast and highly recommend. Elizabeth (I think that was her name) was very helpful and attentive. Breakfast is waffles, cereal, bagels. Fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc. a value.

This isn't a luxury hotel but it has a lat more charm than many chains. It was a good value for our family. We weren't in the room much as we were there for a team camp at UNC. I will stay again.

Room Tip: On courtyard by pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am here on business on a weekend. The clerk placed me in a poolside room on the first floor. Avoid the soccer ball room.

The main problem was evident when I walked in the room - a very loud air conditioner that rattled louder than a hotel bathroom. A maintenance man came, and he put a cardboard shunt in the air conditioner - it was still loud, but about the level of a hotel bathroom with shakes.

I put something in the refrigerator, which was not cold, and smelled this bad marinara smell. I placed drink inside and found that someone had left an old takeout box with contents. Later I would discover the fridge was not plugged in.

The clock is blinking and not set at the time, and the room appeared old and dirty, with grime stuck in the grooves of the furniture. There is mold in the phone covering - like actual black spots. The towels are thin and old ratty tan - only two for two people. There are only three lights - dim and yellow, and as I am on business, I need more light to study.

I have had two many-legged visitors - one gnat and a very large spider hurtling toward me from the bathroom - like an inch-big large. He is presently covered by a trash can while I decide what to do with him.

Also, note the time written. 3:57 a.m. Yes, because I am near the highway and the pool, I not only hear the sounds of wild frat boys (why are they here in June?) getting their jollies at 2am, but also the sounds of the nearby busy street. Right outside. Horns and all.

There is a damp feeling to the room, and though the double locks make me feel more secure, the yelling and the traffic outside is disconcerting, and loud air conditioner rattle and fridge going on and off unnecessarily loud. Every time someone enters or leaves a room, there is a slam - so count on sleeping late and waking early. The whole place reminds me of a beach motel that's about 40 years old and two blocks from the beach.

I guess the place hasn't needed to make changes because of its proximity to the college and its team allegiance, but I'd pick the supposedly 2-star Comfort Inn over this place any day of the week. It was clean, well maintained and quiet. And there were four towels and no bugs! I can't speak to breakfast, as I haven't had it yet, but I don't think it can bring up this rating.

Not recommended.

Room Tip: Don't pick a lower floor (bugs) and don't pick a room with pool or highway traffic. I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Chapel Hill for two weeks and I honestly thought it was a great hotel, I had free breakfast every morning (if you choose the Deluxe option its about $5 more and well worth it). The people are very friendly as well as helpful. They also offer a free shuttle to the UNC campus which was very helpful in getting around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed at the Hotel 2 times, I have found the hotel to be as I would say Fantastic. The rooms are Spotless, Fresh aroma, and New Furnishings. The Pool and surrounding area is well policed and free of litter and trash. Their Staff is first rate and work hard to please their guest.

I look forward to staying at his hotel again.

Room Tip: Book ahead and speak with the staff prior to arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 N. Fordham Blvd., Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel Hill University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.