We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service, but a pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel Hill University Inn

Save Saved
You added Chapel Hill University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chapel Hill University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 N. Fordham Blvd., Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“poor service, but a pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My family had two rooms over graduation weekend--a very busy time. I felt they should have been better prepared for the crowd. Only one of our rooms was ready by check in and they couldn't accommodate our request for an early check in. The first room had a nice display of graduation information, small snacks and an odd keepsake rock. When we eventually got the second room, it had no towels or shower curtain and none of the extras. The office wouldn't even deliver the towels, but asked us to come to the office. For $200 a night, I expect more. On Sunday, neither room was made up by the time we returned at 4:30.

While we knew the policy, it was an expensive error to give no refunds or allow changes after Feb 1st (for a stay in May) when the room would have been snatched up in a minute.

Otherwise, it was clean and had an above average pool area with comfortable chairs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    26
    26
    22
See reviews for
56
18
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Audubon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family and I just returned from a trip to Durham, NC. We were there to pick our college daughter up from Duke University. The Chapel Hill University Inn was such a lovely place to stay. Our room was super super super clean. Beds were comfy and the atmosphere of the Inn was just amazing. The Inn has a lovely lobby to hang out in so the rest of us could sleep in our room. The pool looked so inviting but it was a little chilly during our stay to take a dip.
The prices for our stay are not to be believed. The most reasonably priced INN ever for us!!
We will definitely stay @ The Chapel Hill University Inn again when we make our next trip to NC.
Thank you for making travel affordable!!
Jodie Casanova

Room Tip: We over looked the pool but can not imagine that any of the rooms would not be delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a terrible experience. First of all, the room itself was dirty. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls, there were mosquitoes and flies, there was obvious water damage (and a full dehumidifier in the room and cigarette burns in the comforter (this was a "nonsmoking" room). The service was also terrible. There were not enough towels and no conditioner, and when we asked for some to be brought up, they said they would and just never did. They then told us when we called again that if we wanted extra towels/conditioner, we would have to go downstairs and get it ourselves. Generally,the staff was unprofessional and dismissive. When I complained at checkout, the woman at the desk did not even apologize for the problems with our stay, and clearly did not care at all about our experience. I would not stay here again, even if it were the last room available in Chapel Hill.

Room Tip: Book at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stay here during the High School State Champianship. Was able to find a great deal from Living Social. When I got there, I learned that the person that book the reservation was not on site and actually in another state so they said some things that were not actually accurate but the guy at the front desk was nice. Stayed 2 nights and no major issues. Only problem was that it lack sufficient parking but we were able to find a parking space eventually. Breakfast was great. Staff was nice. Room was clean. Nice 37' flat screen TV. Room had a microwave and fridge that was offered free of charge. (typically $5 each).

Room Tip: I had an upstairs room near the road which I thought was going to be very nosy but it wasnt. I the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room had an overwhelming aroma of a chemical agent used to cover odors that gave my wife a headache. When we arrived, there was only cold air coming out, even when we turned it to "heat." We asked it to be fixed and when we returned, we could only get hot air, even when we turned it to "cool." The bathtub didn't drain. No refrigerator in the room. Also not enough plugs to plug in electric devices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently traveled to Chapel Hill for a busy university weekend and waited too long to make our reservations. We ended up at the University Inn and were truthfully not expecting to be very comfortable but ended up being quite surprised. The staff was wonderful, the accomodations, while dated, are very clean and comfortable. This is a great value!

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room if you are not a smoker - because this is an older hotel, the smoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

See above and repeat three times. Do not stay here. We were booked in a Smoking Room although we requested non-smoking. There is no end to the noise. You can hear everything going on outside. It's just extremely unpleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill University Hotel
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Address: 1301 N. Fordham Blvd., Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel Hill University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.