We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, clean budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
EastCoast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great, clean budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had to grab a place for 2 nights while visiting my daughter at UNC (campus just a few minutes away). It was clean, quiet, light breakfast, and everything I needed (no passw'd internet!) Would have loved to spend time at the small pool, but didn't. Slightly older property, but rooms were great, as was landscaping. Very nice, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Our goal is to please all of our guests, every time. We are happy that we were able to give you an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again in the future and again, thank you from all of the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
22
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The vanity & toilet were visibly dirty & easily wiped clean by us. The coffee maker did not work. There was no liner in trash can. In our neighboring room, there was a very loud domestic issue around 11pm that continued on the deck outside our door. They appeared to be "residents" rather than guests. Upon arrival in the evening & even upon leaving the next morning, there was an older gentlemen seated outside his downstairs room just down from the office who was intoxicated & surrounded by beer cans for all to see & pass by. The atmosphere gave our family an uneasy, not safe, scary feeling. The hotel appears to now be a "home" for many. We were very disappointed. We stayed here when it was Hampton & had only great experiences. We will not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We take all of the feedback of our guests very seriously and thank you for your insight. We will look to improve on the items you mentioned and hope that you and all of our guests will look at the entire picture of our reviews as opposed to a one off stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a great stay at Quality Inn Chapel Hill. The room was very clean with all the comforts we needed - blow dryer, iron, toiletries, etc. There was a nice little outdoor pool that some children were splashing in when we arrived. Although we didn't' swim in the pool, it appeared to be very clean and well kept. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very nice breakfast available in the morning in the lobby - waffles, cereal, breads/pastries, fruit, etc. It was overall a wonderful experience and although I will be moving to Chapel Hill and won't likely need to stay again, I will recommend it to all friends and family that may come to visit! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are grateful that you would recommend our hotel to others. It is because of guests like you that we continue to try to improve based on feedback. Thank you again from all of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I arrived early and the desk clerk was very helpful in getting me settled in a very nice room, with a bit of an up grade as well. Nice, clean, quiet, comfortable, good breakfast and a tad bit hard to find. It sits back from the highway and you can miss it if you don't keep a careful watch. If your Garmin GPS takes you into a car dealer you are close, just up the hill, but not quite there.

Venere.com reserved this room for me and I will use them again for sure. Good experience with their service..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased when our guests leave with a pleasant experience behind them. I hope that you will come visit us again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I frequent this hotel pretty often and I find it to be well worth the money. The quality of the breakfast may suprise some who are used to the terrible excuses for food many other hotels are offering these days. The staff is friendly and polite. There is one stand out named Ivan who works the front desk. He seems to always go above and beyond to ensure that everything is perfect for the guests. He handles issues immediately. This prompt service makes you feel like you are actually cared about and that sure is rare these days. Stay with confidence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We try to provide a good stay with good value at our hotel. We are pleased when we are able to accomplish that task. Thank you for acknowledging the service of our staff. I will make sure Ivan is recognized! Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Finding decent hotels can be a huge problem now days. This was a pleasant, quiet and the breakfast was great - standard but great, especially when the days before I had experienced poor breakfast at other hotels.
The juice was good and fresh as were all the pastries!
Would stay again, even though it is off the beaten path, it had good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good value ... however the night staff seems a bit questionable. One of the older workers wanted to debate race, politics, UNC at the wee hours of the morning as I was trying to check-in. I found not only the nature of the discussion to be highly inappropriate, but also his lack of regard for my time. The following morning the grounds keeper used a leaf blower early in the morning to blow debris off the sidewalk onto to just-washed car. He was aware of what he was doing, but I guess he did not care. That left a sour taste in my mouth ... is saving a few bucks worth being disrespected. If I shelled out a few extra bucks to staff at that nifty, stylish hotel Franklin Hotel., then I may not have encountered this experience ... my dollars, my property and most of all dignity would have been appreciated better closer to campus ... where there's more class and they know we expect it.

Room Tip: Be cognizant of what time of day you check and the worker behind the counter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Please accept my apologies for any inappropriate conversation by any of our staff. It will be addressed as we only want our guests to feel welcomed at our hotel. I will also talk with the landscapers to have more care when maneuvering around the cars of our guests. Please come back to see us again so that we can make your stay 100% better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chapel Hill 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.