We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Business Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was in Chapel Hill for business and chose the Quality Inn to stay. The price was competetive and check in was quick and accurate. The room was clean and is better than most of the other Quality Inns I have stayed at recently. Easily accessable to local restaurants and there is a Mall practically across the street.
The only negative was the address does not pull up on a GPS system. I did not arrive until 9pm and was pretty tired. The Garmen took me to an address where there is absolutely nothing. I eventually had to call and have them give me directions. Just make sure you know where this Quality Inn is at before you go because your mapping system will guide you elsewhere. I alerted the manager and they said that they are already aware of this problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review regarding the hotel. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations! I am sorry for the issues you had with finding us intially and we will continue to try to get that issue rectified for future guests. Please come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
22
20
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visting family in the area, and pre-booked accomodations at this motel. Motel is in decent shape, although renovations in our room look like they were done by amateurs. King Bed was very comfortable. One feature I don't care for is that the sink is in the sleeping area, apart from the bathroom. I prefer a complete bathroom with sink, toilet, and tub all in the bathroom.
Breakfast was the same everyday and had hot choices on it...precooked microwaveable omelet or sausage biscuit or make your own waffles. There were cold items also -- cereal, fruit, rolls, breads.
For the price, the value is what you would expect. Other hotels may be better, but you will be paying extra too. Since we are only in the room to sleep at night, we can't justify paying any more for accomodations, and are grateful there are some average price places like this to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Quality Inn in Chapel Hill offers a good place to stay for a night or more. It is simple, but comfortable and has a nice extra touches. Given the price, it is much more affordable than others in the city that charge you up to three times as much and don't offer simple things like breakfast or internet for free.

The hotel from the outside doesn't look that exciting. Depending on which direction that you come from, the hotel may be hard to find at night if you're not paying attention. If you come in from the rear, there is no light on the sign. However the front sign is lighted and impossible to miss, but your GPS likely will not send you this way unless you're coming from Durham. The check in went fairly quick but really no issues. If you have issues going up stairs, make sure that you ask for a first floor room. There is ample parking around the hotel.

The room was clean and had a king bed, table, chair and two end tables. The sink is in a separate room from the toilet and bathtub. The only strange thing about the room was that the small refrigerator was on the floor. Not sure why they couldn't put in on a small table in order for you not have to reach down to the floor to use it. There is good soundproofing even facing the street. It was hard to hear even car horns going off. The shower head had a lot of pressure, while the pressure in the sink was not as strong as I would have preferred. The internet is free, but was too slow to play any videos and some pages opened slowly.

The lobby is where the fee breakfast is located. There is also coffee and tea available anytime. There are also fresh baked cookies available at reception. Breakfast was from 0630-0930, so make sure you get up early if you want to eat at the hotel. There is also a sports bar (Bailey's) which you get 10% off by showing your room key and a Chinese restaurant within walking distance.

If you are in Chapel Hill, the Quality Inn is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McColl, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was the best that our family has literally ever experienced. My family was in town because my cousin had brain surgery at UNC Hospital. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay alot easier; especially the Sales Manager - Barbara Leedy.
Unfortunately, my cousin has to go back soon for another surgery in the area soon for more problems with the surgery. The only thing to look forward to is the hospitality that this hotel will more than likely show us again ( if there is a vacancy at that time). Thanks Barbara!

- Amy and Kenneth Branch - South Carolina

Room Tip: You are missing out if you have to be in the area and do not stay there - especially if it is at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for such a rave review. We try to pride ourselves on taking care of the guests and their needs. We are sorry that your stay had to be under such unfortunate circumstances. If you need anything at all in the future please do not hesitate to call me.


Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at his hotel for 3 nights in August 2012. We were in the area for a wedding.Our family stayed at the Carolina Inn, which was about triple the price. This hotel has the absolute BEST prices on rooms, except for the University Inn, which has equal prices.
But, as a bonus, you get free breakfast here every morning, which was very good. Also, free internet/computer to use in the lobby anytime. The staff is friendly and well spoken. There is an outdoor pool that looked very nice, but we didn't have time to use it. There is also vending machines on the property, and a chinese buffet restaurant. Downtown Chapel Hill is about 2 miles away. RDU Airport is a 30 min drive.
So now for the not so great things... When I booked this hotel thru Hotels.com, it was a Hampton Inn. No one ever called or emailed us to tell us that the property had changed hands and was now a Quality Inn. So we spent 20 minutes driving all over the place trying to find the Hampton Inn, until a local person told me it was now a Quality Inn. We found it, and luckily during the day light hours, because the entrance is off a service road, and the sign is burnt out, so at night it is nearly impossible to see the entrance.
Our room had a musty/wet dog type of odor, that stayed the whole time we were there, it did not go away on it's own. They dont vaccuum the corners of the room, or behind the funiture, because there was dust and food crumbs all over the carpet, except for right on the main traffic area of the toom. Also, we removed the comforter the kept it on the floor, because when we first entered the room, it had food crumbs on it. Also, no housekeeping is done on Sundays, I don't know if that is standard practice or not.
But, overall it was fair/good. What do you expect for about $75 per night? It ain't the Ritz, but it's adequate.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 109, musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciated the positive feedback and we will work hard on the items that were not so positive during your stay. Please let me know if you need anything in the future!

Thank you,


Alvin Sellars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay... Very private and clean hotel. My kids are at UNC a freshman and Jr. We stayed here as a Hampton and paid 89.00 UNC rate and now with quality inn we paid UNC rate which was lot lower.
We will be back several times and stay at this inn again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally during your return stay if you need anything at all. Good luck to your kids at UNC and safe travels to you and your family.


Thank you,

Alvin Sellars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I really should know better by now than to stay in Quality Inns--invariably, they are sad places that their current owners or franchisees do not seem to want to renovate. This one used to be a Hampton Inn--in fact, the change is so recent that it still appears in the current Hampton Inn guidebook--and this is confirmed by the mixed signage on everything from wall to coffee urn. This particular is an older hotel with open passageways (which i kind of like--more light) but no elevator, mattresses in need of replacement, older furniture, noisy and barely effective a/c, and an exercise room that is very limited (three machines, no TV). The staff is brisk and efficient, pleasant overall. Breakfast is barely adequate, too. No room refirgerators.

Room cleanliness left something to be desired--dirt in corners, hair in bath.

But the price is right--half the rate of the Hampton Inn three miles away--and it is easy to get to other parts of the city. For one night, probably OK. But only OK.

Room Tip: avoid 2d floor if handicapped or lots of bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We will work extensively to correct the issues you had during your stay as we are devoting time to major improvements. We do have a supply of rooms with refrigerators that are available upon request with a limited quantity. If you are ever in need of a room at our hotel again, do not hesistate to contact me so that I can make sure your stay is better!


Thank you,


Alvin Sellars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chapel Hill 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.