We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Business Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was in Chapel Hill for business and chose the Quality Inn to stay. The price was competetive and check in was quick and accurate. The room was clean and is better than most of the other Quality Inns I have stayed at recently. Easily accessable to local restaurants and there is a Mall practically across the street.
The only negative was the address does not pull up on a GPS system. I did not arrive until 9pm and was pretty tired. The Garmen took me to an address where there is absolutely nothing. I eventually had to call and have them give me directions. Just make sure you know where this Quality Inn is at before you go because your mapping system will guide you elsewhere. I alerted the manager and they said that they are already aware of this problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlr8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review regarding the hotel. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations! I am sorry for the issues you had with finding us intially and we will continue to try to get that issue rectified for future guests. Please come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visting family in the area, and pre-booked accomodations at this motel. Motel is in decent shape, although renovations in our room look like they were done by amateurs. King Bed was very comfortable. One feature I don't care for is that the sink is in the sleeping area, apart from the bathroom. I prefer a complete bathroom with sink, toilet, and tub all in the bathroom.
Breakfast was the same everyday and had hot choices on it...precooked microwaveable omelet or sausage biscuit or make your own waffles. There were cold items also -- cereal, fruit, rolls, breads.
For the price, the value is what you would expect. Other hotels may be better, but you will be paying extra too. Since we are only in the room to sleep at night, we can't justify paying any more for accomodations, and are grateful there are some average price places like this to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al73vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
693 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Quality Inn in Chapel Hill offers a good place to stay for a night or more. It is simple, but comfortable and has a nice extra touches. Given the price, it is much more affordable than others in the city that charge you up to three times as much and don't offer simple things like breakfast or internet for free.

The hotel from the outside doesn't look that exciting. Depending on which direction that you come from, the hotel may be hard to find at night if you're not paying attention. If you come in from the rear, there is no light on the sign. However the front sign is lighted and impossible to miss, but your GPS likely will not send you this way unless you're coming from Durham. The check in went fairly quick but really no issues. If you have issues going up stairs, make sure that you ask for a first floor room. There is ample parking around the hotel.

The room was clean and had a king bed, table, chair and two end tables. The sink is in a separate room from the toilet and bathtub. The only strange thing about the room was that the small refrigerator was on the floor. Not sure why they couldn't put in on a small table in order for you not have to reach down to the floor to use it. There is good soundproofing even facing the street. It was hard to hear even car horns going off. The shower head had a lot of pressure, while the pressure in the sink was not as strong as I would have preferred. The internet is free, but was too slow to play any videos and some pages opened slowly.

The lobby is where the fee breakfast is located. There is also coffee and tea available anytime. There are also fresh baked cookies available at reception. Breakfast was from 0630-0930, so make sure you get up early if you want to eat at the hotel. There is also a sports bar (Bailey's) which you get 10% off by showing your room key and a Chinese restaurant within walking distance.

If you are in Chapel Hill, the Quality Inn is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McColl, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was the best that our family has literally ever experienced. My family was in town because my cousin had brain surgery at UNC Hospital. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay alot easier; especially the Sales Manager - Barbara Leedy.
Unfortunately, my cousin has to go back soon for another surgery in the area soon for more problems with the surgery. The only thing to look forward to is the hospitality that this hotel will more than likely show us again ( if there is a vacancy at that time). Thanks Barbara!

- Amy and Kenneth Branch - South Carolina

Room Tip: You are missing out if you have to be in the area and do not stay there - especially if it is at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for such a rave review. We try to pride ourselves on taking care of the guests and their needs. We are sorry that your stay had to be under such unfortunate circumstances. If you need anything at all in the future please do not hesitate to call me.


Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at his hotel for 3 nights in August 2012. We were in the area for a wedding.Our family stayed at the Carolina Inn, which was about triple the price. This hotel has the absolute BEST prices on rooms, except for the University Inn, which has equal prices.
But, as a bonus, you get free breakfast here every morning, which was very good. Also, free internet/computer to use in the lobby anytime. The staff is friendly and well spoken. There is an outdoor pool that looked very nice, but we didn't have time to use it. There is also vending machines on the property, and a chinese buffet restaurant. Downtown Chapel Hill is about 2 miles away. RDU Airport is a 30 min drive.
So now for the not so great things... When I booked this hotel thru Hotels.com, it was a Hampton Inn. No one ever called or emailed us to tell us that the property had changed hands and was now a Quality Inn. So we spent 20 minutes driving all over the place trying to find the Hampton Inn, until a local person told me it was now a Quality Inn. We found it, and luckily during the day light hours, because the entrance is off a service road, and the sign is burnt out, so at night it is nearly impossible to see the entrance.
Our room had a musty/wet dog type of odor, that stayed the whole time we were there, it did not go away on it's own. They dont vaccuum the corners of the room, or behind the funiture, because there was dust and food crumbs all over the carpet, except for right on the main traffic area of the toom. Also, we removed the comforter the kept it on the floor, because when we first entered the room, it had food crumbs on it. Also, no housekeeping is done on Sundays, I don't know if that is standard practice or not.
But, overall it was fair/good. What do you expect for about $75 per night? It ain't the Ritz, but it's adequate.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 109, musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrum1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciated the positive feedback and we will work hard on the items that were not so positive during your stay. Please let me know if you need anything in the future!

Thank you,


Alvin Sellars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay... Very private and clean hotel. My kids are at UNC a freshman and Jr. We stayed here as a Hampton and paid 89.00 UNC rate and now with quality inn we paid UNC rate which was lot lower.
We will be back several times and stay at this inn again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally during your return stay if you need anything at all. Good luck to your kids at UNC and safe travels to you and your family.


Thank you,

Alvin Sellars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I really should know better by now than to stay in Quality Inns--invariably, they are sad places that their current owners or franchisees do not seem to want to renovate. This one used to be a Hampton Inn--in fact, the change is so recent that it still appears in the current Hampton Inn guidebook--and this is confirmed by the mixed signage on everything from wall to coffee urn. This particular is an older hotel with open passageways (which i kind of like--more light) but no elevator, mattresses in need of replacement, older furniture, noisy and barely effective a/c, and an exercise room that is very limited (three machines, no TV). The staff is brisk and efficient, pleasant overall. Breakfast is barely adequate, too. No room refirgerators.

Room cleanliness left something to be desired--dirt in corners, hair in bath.

But the price is right--half the rate of the Hampton Inn three miles away--and it is easy to get to other parts of the city. For one night, probably OK. But only OK.

Room Tip: avoid 2d floor if handicapped or lots of bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolleyMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We will work extensively to correct the issues you had during your stay as we are devoting time to major improvements. We do have a supply of rooms with refrigerators that are available upon request with a limited quantity. If you are ever in need of a room at our hotel again, do not hesistate to contact me so that I can make sure your stay is better!


Thank you,


Alvin Sellars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chapel Hill hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#9 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#11 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel
The Siena Hotel
#1 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing