We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel when visiting the University of North Carolina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Carolina Inn to your Saves list
The Carolina Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, Oh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel when visiting the University of North Carolina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

My daughter and I made a college visit to the University of North Carolina. The Carolina Inn is right on campus. We parked the car and didn't need to worry anymore about finding parking because we just walked everywhere we needed to go. The hotel is exceptional. We received a warm welcome with two chocolate chip cookies. In our opinion, this is an exceptional hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    95
    39
    13
    12
See reviews for
157
116
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

My fiance and I enjoyed our stay here and would stay there again. We were visiting friends who live in Chapel Hill. Our first room was AWFUL - it was supposed to be a Queen room and it had a bed that felt smaller than a Queen. There was a large plaster column that jutted from floor to ceiling in the corner of the room that was traingular and I presume structural (air vent? AC? fireplace shaft?) so the room which was tiny felt even smaller due to this corner blob that felt liked it loomed over the bed. there was almost no floor space and one tiny window. I asked to have us moved but due to a wedding they were sold out. The next day we were moved to a lovely corner room with a King sized bed and it was very pleasant and well sized. The staff were always nice and efficient. They give you free chocolate chip cookies they bake themselves. They do a high tea/ afternoon tea-service each day, you must order 24hrs in advance as they bake it fresh, and they can do GLUTEN FREE!!! We didnt have it as we found out too late, but I was excited it was an option. My main issue - the foyer is overpoweringly fragranced with either candles (I didnt see any) or air freshener or maybe its potpurri? Whatever the fragrance it smells floral perfume in the air EVERYWHERE in the ground floor and it really bothered me. From a health perspective chemical fragrances in enclosed spaces are toxic, plus honestly it's really unsophisticated - who wants to inhale mall beauty product smells with every breath? Also, perfumes tend to give me headaches.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stylish hotel, friendly staff, beautiful grounds and rooms

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our trip was neither leisure nor business; my son was getting oral surgery at the hospital. The hotel was extremely accommodating - including a shuttle that took and to and from the hospital. Aaron, the shuttle driver, was back at the hospital before they wheeled my son outside. He called ahead to the hotel to have a wheelchair awaiting our return. Everyone was very helpful.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We just arrived home after a 3 night stay at The Carolina Inn in Chapel Hill. We absolutely loved it. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door and a very gracious young man named Mac handed us a homemade chocolate chip cookie and made our arrangments for our visit. We were in Room 348 and we were pleased. It is decorated in Old South elegance and the bed was very plush and comfortable. We had makings in our room for coffee/tea and the staff had left us orange juice and fresh fruit which we had requested. The turndown service with chocolates was nice. All of the staff are wonderful. One of the best parts of our stay was the Carolina Crossroads Restaurant at the Carolina Inn. It is a Mobile Four-Star restaurant(one of only two in the State) and is a Four Diamond AAA winner. The breakfasts and the dinners was superb! I can't say enough about how good the food is. There is free access to computers, free USA Today and local newspapers and the amenities in the bathroom are high quality. We were very very pleased with our stay and hope to go back next year! Don't hesitate to book your stay at The Carolina Inn. It is a wonderful experience in Old South grandeur.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Be sure to request a renovated room. If you hate small rooms, you should insist on a king or two doubles. The queen room was cozy and perfect for us, but my husband might have liked a larger room.

Love this hotel and my ultimate test of how good a hotel is... did i want to stay longer? Yes! Honestly, I would have liked to have stayed another 4 days! Really wanted to take an afternoon nap in that bed. Bedding was fabulous. Be sure to request a renovated room. They were still renovating when we were there. The decor was fabulous. It isn't clean lines modern by any means, but it is tasteful, classy - marble baths, clean white fluffy bedding, and gorgeous window treatments, rugs. Furniture is all local mahogany and very nice.

Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We got in early, 10 AM or so and they had our room ready. No fuss. No special request. It was clean, comfortable, lovely decor. Parking was easy and reasonable at $10/day. If not for our daughter who has special needs we would have been within walking distance to at least good food and an art museum. Would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#1 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carolina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.