We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNC Chapel Hill orientation convenience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Carolina Inn to your Saves list
The Carolina Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Best Rates
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
GreenLeadersGold level
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“UNC Chapel Hill orientation convenience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at The Carolina Inn while in town for a UNC Chapel Hill orientation. Check in was quick and friendly (you get a delicious cookie). My room was cozy and full of character. The location was perfect for orientation which lasted all day. Thankfully, in a town where parking is impossible, I was able the leave my car in the parking at The Carolina Inn for the duration of my orientation. So worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    100
    39
    13
    12
See reviews for
161
122
35
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Usually I stay in the Cary area when in NC for business; this time I decided to try the Chapel Hill area and found The Carolina Inn. The hotel had recently gone through renovations and as it was summer break at nearby UNC, we were able to secure a reservation. It far and away exceeded my expectations. Full of Southern, yet contemporary charm, the room was small but loaded with amenities including a wonderfully-comfortable 4-poster bed. I felt like I was staying in an intimate bed and breakfast with tastefully-decorated areas throughout the building to read and relax. Staff and housekeeping attentive and accommodating. Much of the history of UNC is captured in pictures and descriptions in the hallways. The gardens were beautiful and you could easily see why so many couples choose this location for weddings and/or receptions. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the hotel's location was close not only to UNC, but Franklin St which has a good selection of restaurants and shopping opportunities. I'm not how I would like the proximity of the hotel when school was in full swing, but I can say that is was a terrific place to stay in June. Would definitely work look at staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSchmidt1924, General Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear laminpa:
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here in Chapel Hill and hope to see you again next time you return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Visited the Carolina Inn over the weekend from Florida for my cousins wedding. I room was breathe taking and from what we heard it just went through renovation. The staff was so helpful from the check in to the valet. For the actual ceremony was scheduled to be outside and we worried due to heavy rain. However, they did have a backup in door room just in case. The room where the reception was like a fairy tale. The wait staff were incredible and the venue was just perfect. I highly suggest the Carolina Inn for a wedding or just a place to sty while visiting. Also, they give you an amazing cookie at check in!!

Room Tip: Not sure if they are finished with the renovation but ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSchmidt1924, General Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Eric S:
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the wedding! We are privileged to be trusted by more than 125 engaged couples annually to serve as the location for their special day! We take our responsibility seriously and are always eager to send everyone that attends away with fond memories of a fun weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not any wedding...this was my Son's! We had a great time here. The staff and food are #1. I would enjoy staying here again sometime for a weekend get away. It is located near Franklin Street where you will find many good restaurants, pubs and other establishments. The UNC campus is right next door so there are a lot of interesting walks and buildings to enjoy. We stayed in the renovated wing and it was very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the Bryan Courtyard. That was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSchmidt1924, General Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Brad D:
Congratulations to you and your family on your Son's wedding!!! We are so glad to be included in a lifetime of fond memories with you and your family! Thanks for trusting us to do a great job on such an important day. Also, thank you for sharing such positive comments here on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've stayed here previously in a room that had not yet been renovated. This time I was in a renovated room. The room was super-clean, quite lovely. The door to the room stuck in the doorframe and took quite a yank to shut properly. Housekeeping was finding this a bit challenging I think.

The bathroom was perfectly functional, good hot water. I did not dine here.

Front desk staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSchmidt1924, General Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear JoKnits:
Thanks for the feedback on the doors. We have gone back and corrected the problem. Since we just completed the renovation of those guest rooms not renovated in Phase I every room is now fully renovated. We have experienced a couple of minor issues like the door sticking and continue to appreciate the feedback from you and our other guests staying in these rooms for the first or second time. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you on your next visit to Chapel Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Last year we had lunch at the Inn during a road trip. We were so impressed that we returned for an overnite stay on May 19. At first, the front desk could not find our reservation. Due to a computer glitch the reservation sometimes list the reservation under the second guest's name. The front desk was professional and resolved the problem quickly.

The Inn is surprisingly larger than it appears. There are 3 floors with many corridors of rooms. If you have time, read the profiles and history of those who made a difference at UNC.

It has a cozy and homey overall feel but only more upscale with exquisitely appointed furnishings and color palettes selected by apparently the best decorator in North Carolina. The fragrant hand lotion in the restrooms can be purchased at the Gift Shop.

Our room had a 4-poster bed, very plush and comfortable. Bathroom had French doors, small space, European-like. Amenities include guest robe, tea, and coffee, refrigerator.

Our room did not have water or fruit basket, perhaps its something you order in advance. A Privacy sign caused us to miss the acclaimed turn down service mentioned by others. However we did get a "welcome cookie treat" upon check-in and again enjoyed the excellent service in the bar/lounge. An unexpected surprise was the superb dinner by an accomplished chef! Highly recommend.

Staff, service, decor, location...just Perfection! The only disappointment was not seeing the Duke Blue Devil punching bag in the gym as shown on the website photo gallery....otherwise, truly a hidden gem!

Room Tip: Room 373 looked out onto a beautiful tree. Getting to the room takes you through lovely corner space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSchmidt1924, General Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear EvietheIslandGirl:
Thank you very much for such wonderful feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Chapel Hill! I'll share with the chef your wonderful comments about your dinner in Carolina Crossroads. We are proud of him and for being one of only three five star five diamond restaurants in North Carolina.

Sorry about the Duke Blue Devil punching bag in the fitness center not being available during your visit. It gets quite a workout and was out for repair!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is THE place to stay in Chapel Hill. Gracious service, warm and inviting ambiance, finely appointed rooms, satisfying dining. Best location, too. What's not to like? My son will spend the next four years at UNC. I will be back . . . often

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackSchmidt1924, General Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear JA M:
Thanks for your kind comments! We hope to see you and your family many times during the next four years. Please let us know if there is anything at all we can do to help make any of your future stays more comfortable. Also, if you are not yet a member of our 1924 Club (exclusively for parents of UNC students) I'd encourage you to sign up either on our website or by giving us a call here at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#1 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carolina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.