We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Carolina Inn to your Saves list
The Carolina Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

While it is quaint, the policy of charging daily for your car as well as heftily for a very small room, is too much.

  • Liked — chocolate chip cookie on sign-in
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    95
    39
    13
    12
See reviews for
157
116
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

I was in town for business meetings at UNC, booking and payment were handled directly by the University. Greeted quickly and efficiently by staff despite about 4 parties checking in at the same time. Complimentary warm chocolate chip and walnut cookie hit the spot after a long day of travel and meetings. Would recommend highly to others. Parking was tight, but space could be found and hotel bar was nice as well. Only complaint would be dated tv remote and tv made viewing a little difficult at times.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Hints of old south. Nice place. Good AC. Friendly staff. However,no pool or fun facilities. Good for attending local functions otherwise minimal fun.

  • Liked — charm, southern feel
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the last week of March 2007. I was visiting UNC (as part of Grad recruitment day) and my stay was paid by the university. Hence, I don't know what was the cost of my stay.

The hotel is owned by and located in UNC. I was visiting the computer science dept there and this hotel is situated right across the street from Sitterson Hall (the building that houses computer science dept).

I had to share the room with two other people. There were two double beds and one cot. The room was not meant for three adults and it was difficult to move around in the room. The bathroom was was a decent size and the overall feel of the room was that of a 3.5* hotel room. In retrospect I feel that if I had stayed there alone my experience would have been a lot more pleasant, although I don't blame my unpleasant experience on the hotel (but rather on the UNC administration who organized the event).

The hotel lobby was nicely decorated. The business centre had two workstations and allowed free Internet access and printing. Everything else was okay. It is a good hotel if your business takes you to UNC. I wonder who would come to Chapel Hill for a vacation.

  • Liked — Location (close to UNC)
  • Disliked — Resturant is expensive
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way from New York to Florida. The hotel was nicely old fashioned and was very attractively furnished and decorated. Everyone who looked after us during our stay were friendly and obliging.

Our Hilton reward break gave us a "larger" Queen room, a good quality complimentary full breakfast. The only charge was $8 for valet parking. High speed internet was complimentary to all guests.

The bedroom was nicely furnished, but the bed although comfortable seemed more like a full size. The air conditioning unit vents were not well positioned relative to the bed and struggled to keep the room cool.

Guests should note the regular Queen rooms are small.

Overall, a nice relaxing experience in a very hospitable environment.

  • Liked — The hotel's old world charm
  • Disliked — The airconditioning unit.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#1 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carolina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.