We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bin 54

Bin 54
1201-M Raleigh Rd, Glen Lennox Shopping Center, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
(919) 969-1155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bin 54 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 251 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 15-501 / Fordham Blvd.
Description: Using only the highest quality ingredients, Bin 54 elevates classic steakhouse dishes to a new level of refinement. Staged in a warm contemporary setting, diners are offered glimpses of the wood-fired grill, a canopied patio, and the temperature controlled wine room stocked with an extensive inventory of both eclectic and traditional selections.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

A fine steak house for special occasions; has a good reputation; insane prices. Unfortunately I have had better steak at The Texas Roadhouse. My son's filet was average with an above average price. Priced at about $45 with $20 added to that for the featured sauce of the day. My strip steak was prepared as requested but was gristly, tough to cut and nearly tasteless. The service was very good as were the side dishes. The restaurant asks for feedback on their web site and indicates that they will respond. Still waiting. There are so many fine dining choices in Chapel Hill where prices are more in line with quality. We will not be returning to Bin 54.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“El Primo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Albeit on the pricey side, I think worth every penny. Food quality and service excellent. If I wanted to impress a visitor or a client, this would be the first place that would come to mind. The parking and noise issues are minor overall to me compared to the dining experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New York quality for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is an excellent choice for that special dinner. My wife is a challenge with many diet restrictions and they made the meal very special for her. The Chef prepared entrée and sides according to her restrictions and it was very special. I loved it. She was dazzled and we will go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant. The food is designer and there are some unusual things to go with the standard high quality charred beef. The scallop appetizer is exceptional. My husband loves the creamed spinach. The atmosphere is sophisticated and the ambiance is romantic. It's pricey but great for a special occasion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food, excellent wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not a bad restaurant overall. Food is a little above average, while the wine list is outstanding and varietals are served in the appropriate stemware. It is noisy and the parking is limited, but still worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bin 54 also viewed

 

Been to Bin 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bin 54, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.