We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Cookies, Warm Surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chapel Hill

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Erwin Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Portland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm Cookies, Warm Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here for almost three weeks recently (with my two toy-sized pups) and honestly couldn't have been happier with the hotel overall: my room, the location, the staff--all were top-notch, providing a true "home away from home" feeling. My parents have relocated to NC so I will be returning here often.

First: the room. Whoever designed these "mini-apartments" is a genius. So many hotel rooms have either too much furniture for the space--feeling cluttered and claustrophobic--or their spareness translates to sterility and inconvenience. Not so here: everything was so strategically laid out that I could hardly believe I was in what I think was about a 400 square foot space. Full kitchen (with all amenities thought of), comfortable dining chairs and table, a desk, a comfortable office chair, a VERY comfortable king size bed, a large dresser, end tables, a sofa, a recliner and ottoman, a big-screen flat tv, large "two-room" bathroom, an ample-sized closet--how did they do it? A perfect example of how creatively everything was placed: the tv was placed on a 360-degree swivel on the dresser extending into the middle of the room--acting, perfectly, as a room separator for the "bedroom" and the "living room." I could lie in bed and watch the news, then wake up and continue with the tv facing the kitchen while I had coffee, then sit comfortably for a movie on the couch with the dogs at night. Brilliant!

Another note on the room (and the property): it's both quiet and spotless--an especially appreciated aspect of a "pet-friendly" hotel. No stains, no strange smells. The housekeeping staff is friendly but discreet--they're always there but don't make a lot of noise in the halls (a big bonus when you have small dogs who bark at someone on the other side of the door).

A few examples of the additional "touches" that made this hotel stand out:
1) Delicious home-baked cookies (warm!) every afternoon at the front desk;
2) While I don't eat a big breakfast (there is an ample buffet each morning), I loved that they always put out a bowl of fruit that I could grab when back from walking the pups, etc. Nice.
3) The hotel has "dog stations" placed around the grounds--rolls of "poop bags" for extra convenient clean-up next to a trash can.
4) Lots of exits to the outside--all accessible for re-entry with my keycard (again, making it easy to take the dogs out quickly in the evening especially).
5) Friendly staff that were truly hospitable to my dogs--it must be a job requirement that these folks love animals because I never felt anything but welcome (which is not always the case--even at supposedly "pet-friendly" hotels).
6) The hotel offers a "Fill My Fridge" card--you can fill it out with whatever you want (Ben & Jerry's Cherry Garcia, a dozen eggs, soy milk, etc.), leave it at the desk by 9 AM and they will shop for you and put your groceries in your fridge by end of day--with the grocery costs just charged to your bill. Again--brilliant!

Anyway--I could go on and on but the easiest recco I can give is just to say that I will definitely be staying here again in the near future--they are doing it right.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    43
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
32
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
597 helpful votes 597 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here a week in July of 2013 and enjoyed the stay. The location is convenient if you have a car and want to explore Chapel Hill and Durham, but it's not possible to walk anywhere. Trader Joe's and Whole Foods are nearby as are all the other amenities that you could want for an extended stay. The free buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of choices and plenty of seating in the large lobby area. The pool and workout facilities were just fine. The one bedroom king suite was large, the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for plates and utensils, and the room cleaning was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Residence Inn Chapel Hill made us feel welcome with a squeaky clean, friendly, conveniently located facility. It sits off the highway in a wooded spot on carefully landscaped grounds with ample green space and strategically placed pet cleanup stations. On a recent evening, several deer could be seen near the treeline out back, where it's quiet and parklike. The suites are well designed. Ours included a working gas fireplace, perfect for the cool autumn evenings. The dining area is large, well stocked, and staffed by cheerful and efficient people. The icing on the cake is the excellent value of the place. You get substantial bang for the buck. We'll definitely stay here again when we return to Chapel Hill.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite away from the stairs. The sound of pounding feet intruded on our bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recently met family here with 4 rooms rented for 3 nights. Great breakfast choices and comfortable eating area. Rooms were clean and well equipped as residence inns go. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Could use a business center. Only one computer for use and in a stand up area that is not very user friendly. Great location for UNC and downtown Chapel Hill access. Very easy to visit all Tobacco road campuses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel for a family wedding. Check in was quick and the staff very friendly. They gave good directions for what could have been confusing for us. The room was large and comfortable. We had everything we needed for our weekend stay. In fact, we commented that this room would be suitable for a small apartment. The breakfast was included and offered a wide variety. The pork sausage patties were a perfect compliment for the eggs, pancakes, and waffles. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is just off Fordham Blvd. and is not affected by traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Residence Marriott Chapel Hill on Tobacco Road in the heart of the Chapel Hill/Durham, research triangle a bit west of Raleigh. It's a beautiful area and the hotel Is perfectly situated just off I40. It's hidden on a hill just west of SR 15/501 on Erwin Road...but the Erwin Road intersection is quite well marked from the North. From the South it requires a bizarre signal lit U turn. All that being said, the location is superb.
The hotel is showing signs of many years of high traffic. It's a natural spot for Tar Heels and Blue Devils to congregate before games, graduations, alumni functions etc....not to mention the many labs and think tanks in the area. But, it's getting tired and needs a good make over.
The rooms are sizable, all suites and perfect for the business people who need a week or more to be on site. My room on the second floor suffered from tired carpeting, a moderately comfortable sofa, a complete kitchen that may well have been recently updated, a toilet that ran and cracks in the wall paper.
The bathroom is roomy but the shower/toilet part is a tight fit.
Being on the second floor with at least one above generally is not a good idea and this was not. Constant foot steps and running around from above was intrusive. The sound proofing is in dire need of a jolt.
The grounds of the hotel are well done. The pool and patio areas provide nice vistas to take in the Tar Heel Blue skies of fall and spring.
Parking is very easy and accessible.
The Residence Inn provides a hot breakfast gratis daily. That's a major selling point as it is truly a hearty breakfast whether you prefer ham n'eggs or yogurt, fruit and cereals.
Service at the front desk is now and always has been excellent.

The rooms are reasonably priced. And the hotel is often sold out so book early. Wi Fi is available for all guests and works well in the room.

There are not many choices for lodging in this particular area. And in spite of its aging, the Residence Inn is a leader; however, if attention is not paid to upgrades and some cosmetics done soon, regulars like me may look elsewhere......regretfully.

Room Tip: First Floor imperative. King bed suite for an individual or couple is sizable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Let me start out the review by saying I might be slightly biased based on the hotel surprising me with a room upgrade upon arrival. Can't tell you how much I appreciated my own room and bathroom after traveling with kids! The room is your standard Residence Inn fare - we had two bedrooms, living area and kitchen. Loved the extra space and kitchen area. It was a comfortable and pleasant stay. Breakfast and wifi were included in the rate - which, especially using AAA, was very fair. I would stay here again!

The hotel was convenient to UNC Chapel Hill - under ten minute drive.

Room Tip: Our room was in a separate building so don't unpack the car until you find out where your room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 101 Erwin Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#6 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#7 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chapel Hill 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.