We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always happy at the Franklin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin Hotel to your Saves list
The Franklin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always happy at the Franklin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at the Franklin this past weekend was wonderful as always. Comfy bed, spacious room, and great breakfast. Loved seeing Luke and Neri are still there serving breakfast. It's great that the Franklin can keep such good staff. David at the front desk was gracious and accommodating as always and I know that Brian (best barkeep in town) is still there but we were too busy to get to see him. It's always a treat to stay here and I can't wait for next time.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are always a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello again, hockeymom016!

So glad to have you back with us recently. It's heartwarming that you have come to know so many of our team members; esp. because they love caring for all our guests.

Hope you're back soon,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    60
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
92
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business purposes for 1 night. The hotel is right in the center of Chapell Hill, and I really enjoyed my stay there. Warm welcome, very clean and quiet, this hotel knows how to make you comfortable and "at home" !! Rooms are big and very clean, huge soft bed, big bathroom, all you can expect from a hotel of this category. Fitness room is very well equipped as well. I recommend this hotel either for business travelers or just for a romantic stay in Chapell Hill. It will be my premium choice for my next trip for sure !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you, fguitteny, for your enthusiastic review!

It warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed so much of what The Franklin Hotel has to offer. One of our goals is to make our guests feel "at home", and we're glad that you got that feeling.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Until next time,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice place to stay and loved the room! The balcony was an extra bonus!. Also loved the breakfast they seved . Very close everything in town with easy and Conveinant Parking. Friendly and Helpful Staff. Wonderful Bar area Well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello dbp200,

It sounds like you really enjoyed the full range of amenities we have to offer at The Franklin. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.

Take care!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times and love it. Great staff, fantastic rooms. The beds are so comfortable I hardly want to get up. With in walking distance to everything you could want: entertainment, UNC, fantastic food, fun bars, etc...
You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Vandalia23,

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments! We're thrilled that you are a regular guest and that you find our hotel so enjoyable. We know what you mean about the beds...that's why we offer the complimentary hot, cooked to order breakfast - to entice our guests to make their way downstairs!

Look forward to having you back soon.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great hotel located in the heart of Chapel Hill. We visited a family member playing in the NCAA field hockey champs and had our nine month old daughter with us. We stayed in a suite and the room had a great living area and balcony which was more than enough room for our small family. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Adam R.

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We appreciate having the opportunity to host your family during your visit to Chapel Hill (and the US!).

And glad to know that you will stay with us again.

Take care!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stay in the presidential suite. The same room Denzel washing, Obama, Forbes owner stayed in. Upon entering I felt like I was at home with the large windows and elegant furniture. I loved the walkin in shower with the double heads and body jets. The view on the wrap around terrace was breathtaking to overlook the city. The breakfast was delectable! My fav was the sausage with eggs and the waffles! I can't wait to stay there again! Totally recommend this room!
Oh and the staff was on point! My son loved the room service bringing him there square chocolates. No pool or kids activities :(

Room Tip: Don't eat at the Indian restaurant directly across the street. The ambiance draws you in but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Tracee H.

Thanks for your comments - we're happy that you enjoyed your stay in the presidential suite so much. It is truly a unique accommodation and you were able to make use of all its special features.

We hope to have you back with us soon.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for a college visit to UNC with high schooler. Friendly staff, easy parking for a notoriously difficult area to park. Wonderful smelling lobby and elevators-really. Room was clean and beautifully appointed. Refrig, and a vanity area separate from bath with a lighted makeup mirror. Balcony was nice w table and two chairs. Despite being on Franklin st, room was quiet and did not hear noise from late night businesses. Towels were very thick and nice. Housekeeping staff quick to respond to request for additional towels. Sweet housekeeper provided turndown service w chocolates and water.. My child would go to UNC in a heartbeat if she could live at the Franklin!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Buck5464,

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you got the most of our downtown location and still enjoyed some peace and quiet. If only we all could live at The Franklin during college - the hotel wasn't around when I was at UNC...but maybe my grades would have been better if I could have stayed a a place like it!

As a Tar Heel myself, I hope your child chooses UNC and we look forward to having your with us again soon.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel
The Siena Hotel
#1 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#11 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#10 of 16 in Chapel Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Address: 311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.