We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, ideal for visiting family on campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Franklin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fantastic Hotel, ideal for visiting family on campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great hotel located in the heart of Chapel Hill. We visited a family member playing in the NCAA field hockey champs and had our nine month old daughter with us. We stayed in a suite and the room had a great living area and balcony which was more than enough room for our small family. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Adam R.

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We appreciate having the opportunity to host your family during your visit to Chapel Hill (and the US!).

And glad to know that you will stay with us again.

Take care!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    39
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
65
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stay in the presidential suite. The same room Denzel washing, Obama, Forbes owner stayed in. Upon entering I felt like I was at home with the large windows and elegant furniture. I loved the walkin in shower with the double heads and body jets. The view on the wrap around terrace was breathtaking to overlook the city. The breakfast was delectable! My fav was the sausage with eggs and the waffles! I can't wait to stay there again! Totally recommend this room!
Oh and the staff was on point! My son loved the room service bringing him there square chocolates. No pool or kids activities :(

Room Tip: Don't eat at the Indian restaurant directly across the street. The ambiance draws you in but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Tracee H.

Thanks for your comments - we're happy that you enjoyed your stay in the presidential suite so much. It is truly a unique accommodation and you were able to make use of all its special features.

We hope to have you back with us soon.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for a college visit to UNC with high schooler. Friendly staff, easy parking for a notoriously difficult area to park. Wonderful smelling lobby and elevators-really. Room was clean and beautifully appointed. Refrig, and a vanity area separate from bath with a lighted makeup mirror. Balcony was nice w table and two chairs. Despite being on Franklin st, room was quiet and did not hear noise from late night businesses. Towels were very thick and nice. Housekeeping staff quick to respond to request for additional towels. Sweet housekeeper provided turndown service w chocolates and water.. My child would go to UNC in a heartbeat if she could live at the Franklin!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Buck5464,

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you got the most of our downtown location and still enjoyed some peace and quiet. If only we all could live at The Franklin during college - the hotel wasn't around when I was at UNC...but maybe my grades would have been better if I could have stayed a a place like it!

As a Tar Heel myself, I hope your child chooses UNC and we look forward to having your with us again soon.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtly23
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed there to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. We stayed in a mini king room with a balcony. The room was small but well appointed. The floor to ceiling windows made the room bright and feel larger. The balcony was large, and if it wasn't so hot we definitely would have used it. There is a mini fridge with a separate freezer, which is nice if you need. it. I really liked the standup shower. A nice size. The bathroom is very small, but that didn't bother us.

Pros:
-You can't beat the location
-Lovely rooms
-The service we received was awesome
-The free breakfast is not your average hotel breakfast. You are seated a tables with linens and served beverages by staff. You can even make special requests if you would like something that is not on the buffet. I asked for wheat toast that never came, but not a big deal.

Cons:
-Paint was pealing/chipping on the ceiling in the bathroom - not a deal breaker but a detail that should be tended to.
-Three employees were talking at the host stand after breakfast about work issues. We were getting coffee to go and well within ear shot. One guy was dressed in all black and seemed like a manager. Not the most professional behavior. Leave those conversations away from guests.
-They are renovating so their bar on the second floor had limited choices for drinks.
-The towels were rough and not very luxurious.
-The sheets!! I've never stayed somewhere with such scratchy sheets. Again not a deal breaker, but disappointing.

We will stay here again in the future. I would definitely recommend this place. It's a great combination of value and luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi there courtly23,

We appreciate your detailed notes about your stay at The Franklin Hotel, and are happy to know that your visit was great enough to make you feel comfortable enough returning.

At the same time, we are disappointed that we couldn't address the issues you mentioned before your visit. We are aware of some of the deficiencies, and you will be pleased to know that we have a plan in place to improve each of them.

1. We are in the midst of a paint/drywall restoration project that is including every guest room.
2. We will have the regular bar open again as usual on Thursday, August 8th, 2013.
3. You're right that the towels have been in poor shape. So we have just this week replenished our entire stock of towels with heavy, plush terry linens and taken all old supplies out of service.
4. You're also right about the sheets. They are very worn and in need of replacement. We have replenished 1/2 of our stock right now, and are waiting for the second half to arrive. Our new sheets are 1,000 thread count, 100% Egyptian cotton and you will certainly be able to tell the difference!
5. The unprofessional behavior is embarrassing and uncalled for. We are focusing our ongoing training on the appropriate time and place of various conversations, and also our service process so that your requests are followed through on and delivered completely.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We love getting this kind of response because it highlights what we can do better to improve our guests' experience.

Sincerely,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel. I've stayed 3 x since it opened. Each time I notice how poor the actual service / hospitality is.

Don't get me wrong, everyone there is very nice, just not enough staff. Calling to front desk often no answer, upon check in no carts for self help and no one in sight to help initially with luggage.

Some mold in shower.

All above being mentioned the room is comfortable, facility nice. They need more staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Richard N.

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We're embarrased that our hospitality was lacking during your stay with us. You are absolutely right that we should be answering all phones promptly and we should have adequate staff in place to help you through the arrival process.

We had our houskeeping team address the mildew in the shower first thing this morning. We should have noticed it and treated it before you even checked into the room, and we will work to make sure to this kind of oversight doesn't happen again..

We agree that we need to have a more robust staff so we can address all our guests' needs throughout the day and night. We have been struggling with that issue, but are committed to making it happen. Please allow us a chance to continue building and training our team, and we hope you'll give us another try on your next visit to Chapel Hill.

We take your feedback very seriously and will be using it to improve the quality of our hotel's experience.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is a little bit above our usual price ceiling, but we needed to be downtown, and it was easily the best alternative. The service, room quality, breakfast buffet, lounge areas, and everything else were as good as we've found anywhere. Utterly irreproachable. There is no pool, but downtown hotels rarely have one, so this didn't disappoint us. One thing I particularly liked about this hotel is that they don't nickle and dime you to death, as downtown hotels often do. The room had a small fridge (at no extra charge) that was NOT loaded with hideously expensive "honor bar" items, and thus usable for fruit, juice, etc; the breakfast buffet was included in the room price, and their indoor parking is FREE, a rarity among downtown hotels, in my experience. Pounce!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
meredeschats,

Would you like to work on our marketing team?!? Just kidding, but your review touches on all the things that we strive to deliver for our guests! We are so glad that you appreciated our approach in providing all the basics without extra charge at The Franklin.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience. We hope that you'll be back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Address: 311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.