We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking Hospitakity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin Hotel to your Saves list
The Franklin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lacking Hospitakity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel. I've stayed 3 x since it opened. Each time I notice how poor the actual service / hospitality is.

Don't get me wrong, everyone there is very nice, just not enough staff. Calling to front desk often no answer, upon check in no carts for self help and no one in sight to help initially with luggage.

Some mold in shower.

All above being mentioned the room is comfortable, facility nice. They need more staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Richard N.

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We're embarrased that our hospitality was lacking during your stay with us. You are absolutely right that we should be answering all phones promptly and we should have adequate staff in place to help you through the arrival process.

We had our houskeeping team address the mildew in the shower first thing this morning. We should have noticed it and treated it before you even checked into the room, and we will work to make sure to this kind of oversight doesn't happen again..

We agree that we need to have a more robust staff so we can address all our guests' needs throughout the day and night. We have been struggling with that issue, but are committed to making it happen. Please allow us a chance to continue building and training our team, and we hope you'll give us another try on your next visit to Chapel Hill.

We take your feedback very seriously and will be using it to improve the quality of our hotel's experience.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    60
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
81
92
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is a little bit above our usual price ceiling, but we needed to be downtown, and it was easily the best alternative. The service, room quality, breakfast buffet, lounge areas, and everything else were as good as we've found anywhere. Utterly irreproachable. There is no pool, but downtown hotels rarely have one, so this didn't disappoint us. One thing I particularly liked about this hotel is that they don't nickle and dime you to death, as downtown hotels often do. The room had a small fridge (at no extra charge) that was NOT loaded with hideously expensive "honor bar" items, and thus usable for fruit, juice, etc; the breakfast buffet was included in the room price, and their indoor parking is FREE, a rarity among downtown hotels, in my experience. Pounce!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
meredeschats,

Would you like to work on our marketing team?!? Just kidding, but your review touches on all the things that we strive to deliver for our guests! We are so glad that you appreciated our approach in providing all the basics without extra charge at The Franklin.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience. We hope that you'll be back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel for the Research Triangle. It's right in the middle of Chapel Hill within easy walking of all the stores. Also, because it's next to UNC and a few parks, my morning jogs were a pleasure. Just know that they call it Chapel Hill for a reason. Anyway, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, but it did have a couple of issues here and there that I'll get into.

The rooms were very comfortable, very clean and nicely sized. The king bed had terrific sheets and plenty of soft feather pillows. Wifi worked instantly and didn't fail us the entire trip so kudos there. Also, it was nice that the room had a sitting area with a couch so it was easy to relax when we weren't touring around the area or meeting up with friends.

Service and hospitality benefited from Southern charm. Everyone was SUPER friendly and courteous and greeted us with big smiles every time we went into the hotel.

Garage parking was on site and covered (it rained hard one night so this was appreciated). Also, breakfast was included in our fare. Moreover, it was terrific each morning. Couldn't believe how good the orange juice was, nicely rich coffee, fresh sausage and terrific french toast. Even the eggs were freshly made rather than powdery. It was a pleasure each morning.

So, some of the issues: first, one of the lights in the bedroom was blown and maintenance never got around to repairing it even though we had notified the front desk. Second, the towels could be better. They just didn't feel luxurious. Moreover, the washcloths in particular were paper thin.

Anyway, other than that, the stay was pleasant and as I mentioned, we'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello nycebo,

We appreciate your candid feedback about your experience staying at The Franklin Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed the services, amenities, and location. But we're very embarrassed and disappointed that we fell short on some of the basics.

The light in your bedroom should have been checked and working before you even got to the room, and we certainly should have fixed it when you gave us the opportunity by letting us know. Our teams failed to communicate with each other and it fell through. We have discussed this as a group already this week and will focus on better follow through among ourselves.

You're right that our terry linens are in need of replacement. We have just sourced a new, much more luxurious product and are placing replenishment orders as we speak. You can expect brand new, lavish bath towels, hand towels, washcloths, and bathmats on your next visit.

We hope you'll be back soon - and thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! Everything was great and the staff was excellent! Despite a local flood, the staff relocated the bar and never missed a beat. The rooms had all the latest updates and the beds were great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Steve G,

Thanks for your post here - we appreciate your understanding this week as we dealt with the aftermath of the water back up in our hotel.

With all the fans, dehumidifiers, and clean up crew around the place, we figured that having a place to get a drink was at the top of the list. Glad you enjoyed your stay - see you next time!

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was in Chapel Hill picking up my daughter from the UNC Lacrosse Camp. I've traveled a lot internationally, and am kind of picky about where I stay, so I read through a lot of reviews before booking here. I was traveling alone, and wanted to be close to campus so I could walk over and watch the girls play. The location was great...right on the edge of campus, so an easy walk to get to where I wanted to go.

The first thing that I noticed was a wonderful, spa-like scent in the lobby. Immediately relaxed me after a 6 hour drive to get there! The young woman checking me in was friendly, professional and fast.

I loved that there was free internet, as I needed to work on this trip. I also loved the free, covered parking, and the free breakfast.

My room was wonderful...because I was traveling alone, I booked a king "mini". It was the perfect size for me, with a great, private balcony that overlooked the treetops. I loved that I could prop open the door to the balcony to let in some fresh air, and listen to the birds in the morning! The bathroom was pretty and very well-equipped. Great toiletries, and lots of clean, fresh, thick towels. The shower was awesome...good pressure, and a shower head with different settings.

Great comfortable bed with lots of soft pillows, with sheets that were crazy soft. Everything in the room was clean and comfortable. And this is a little thing, but sometimes it's the little things, right? :) I'm petite, and usually hotel robes engulf me...most are just enormous! But the robe in this room was a perfect fit for me! Like I said, a little thing, but it made me happy!

Went to the Roberts Lounge for dinner and a glass of wine. The bartender there was wonderful...attentive, interested and always checking on me to see if there was anything else I needed. The smoked salmon appetizer I had for dinner was terrific. And the live jazz band added to the great atmosphere!

The price was right, both for the room and for the food and drinks. I think I expected it to be more expensive because the hotel was so nice...but everything was so reasonably priced, which was a nice surprise!

Terrific breakfast, with good service. All in all, I just really loved this place. I felt relaxed and comfortable here, even as a woman traveling alone. Friendly, attentive service from everyone. I'll definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in Chapel Hill!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Care B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed description of your experience at The Franklin. It seems like you were able to get the best of what we strive to deliver every day, and I'm glad that everything went so smoothly. And we're doubly happy that you were able to make use of the free internet, covered parking, and hot breakfast - all of which we believe are the basics.

The spa scent is a white tea and ginger based fragrance - if you're interested in getting it for your home, I'll be happy to give you the details (919-442-4090).

Our team is thrilled that you enjoyed each part of your stay so much, and we hope that you'll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdese, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed over the weekend for a business/pleasure event. We were impressed with the location, being right on Franklin St. We were able to walk to do a little shopping and eating within minutes of the hotel. All of the staff were very helpful and nice. A free breakfast buffet in the am was a pleasant suprise, and a tip for the service was the least one could do in appreciation. Will be back here again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear g0ttag0girl,

We are grateful to have been your host for a weekend in Chapel Hill. Downtown Franklin Street has so much to offer and it's nice that you were able to conveniently experience it.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel
The Siena Hotel
#2 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#11 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#10 of 16 in Chapel Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Address: 311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.