We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Franklin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location - Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice hotel in great location. Free internet - Free Parking - Free Breakfast. What's not to like? I guess the only knock I can give it is - no tub in bathroom just a shower. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear firepatio,

We appreciate your positive recommendation about The Franklin Hotel - the internet, parking, and breakfast are three must have amenities that we believe should come with the price of the room to offer our guests the most value. Glad you enjoyed them!

I hope the lack of bath tubs in our rooms won't detract you from staying with us in the future.

Thank you for the post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    39
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
65
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northeast Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very nice hotel, the staff is amazing. Everyone was happy to help you, always a smile on their faces. Made for a pleasant 2 night stay. Was not overyly impressed with the room, but then again-only needed a bed :) The shower was okay, its nice that they are handicap accessible, but that also creates a flooded bathroom floor, water comes out of the shower and all over. Otherwise very nice hotel, right in the heart of Chapel Hill, walking distance to so many restaurants and of course the college.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Deese,

Thank you for sharing your comments about The Franklin.

In our rooms with disabled access showers, we have struggled with a solution to keep the water in the right place. To allow for wheelchair access, there is no threshold or shower enclosure to keep the water in so we will need to work harder to find a better seal to prevent the water from getting out.

I'm happy to hear that you found our staff to be amazing and would like to ensure you get a room with a traditional shower enclosure on your next stay. Please feel free to call me directly when making your reservation at 919-442-4090.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Enter to a beautiful boutique hotel...upscale lodging in the downtown heart of CH. definitely op for balcony room, nice size, large bath, pleasing decor, ensuite coffee, great hot breakfast in beautiful dining room.

Room Tip: Balony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi there Alleycat0,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed our in-room amenities along with the hot breakfast. We hope you'll make another trip to Chapel Hill and The Franklin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Franklin about a year ago now and I have been meaning to write a review. The whole experience there was wonderful. The service was outstanding by the bellmen. The guy working at the counter checking us in took a long time but we got to enjoy the bar/lobby area longer so it was ok. The room looked immaculate. The bathrooms were very clean. They even put rose pedals in a heart shaped pattern for us without me even mentioning anything. The place has a classy touch at every corner. We even considered getting married there at one point. The food was great as well. I highly recommend staying there for all UNC fans, visitors of Chapel Hill, and for all looking for a first class experience.

Room Tip: Definitely eat at the restaurant right across the street. The front desk will make an appointment fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello dstadunc,

Thanks for your comments about your stay at The Franklin Hotel. It sounds like everything went just right for you when you and your wife were here. Since you didn't end up getting married here, maybe we can host you for an anniversary celebration one year!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to NYC for our 20th anniversary that was cancelled at the last minute due to weather, cancelled flights, etc. We decided to do an impromptu trip over to Chapel Hill for the night. I booked a room at the Franklin Hotel. I stay at nice hotels all over the world for work and this one ranks right up there. Right on Franklin St, great service and a very nice room. After dinner and a walk on campus we returned to the room to find a bottle of champaign on ice and a card signed by everyone working at the hotel.

Breakfast included is very nice. Only thing I would do different is not book the balcony room. It has a four-foot concrete wall so you can't see Franklin Street if you are sitting at the table. Minor point but I always try to provide a balanced report. Great place with great service. Planning our next trip already.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Winston34,

Thanks for your comments about your stay with us in June. I can imagine how frustrated you must have been when your NYC trip got cancelled, so we were thrilled to step in and host you as an alternative.

You make a good point about our balconies - the walls make it difficult to enjoy the view when sitting at the current furniture arrangement. We are considering some touches to all balconies that would enable guests to use them more fully, and some taller furniture near the railings and walls is something we are considering. I hope we can have that addressed by the time of your next visit so you don't have to avoid the balcony room.

Again, we appreciate your feedback as it helps make the experience better for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

With friends visiting from Australia, we took a mini vacation from our home and booked 2 rooms at The Franklin Hotel, downtown Chapel Hill. The hotel is beautiful, quiet and elegant; the rooms offer a serenity through muted wall colors and luxurious bedding. The bathrooms are a good size with plenty of counter space for "stuff". Included in the room price is a complete made to order breakfast with many selections - definitely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
LucyLuChapelHill_NC,

We're glad that we could be the retreat you were looking for on your mini vacation. We're honored that you trusted us enough to host your friends who were visiting all the way from Australia, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Perfect stay and very luxurious hotel.The complaints that I see from other guests are unwarranted. It's a perfect location and great room! As nice as some Ritz Carltons that I've stayed at. The room was smaller but cozy. No tub in the room, but we were only there one night. I really enjoyed myself and the breakfastl.. holy cow! It was delicious and definitely fine dining! We hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: Ask for the side facing downtown. Beautiful sunset. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Eliseccu,

Wow, that is high praise indeed! We're thrilled that you had a "perfect" stay, and will keep working to make it that way for all guests.

Can't wait to have you back with us.

Thanks for posting your feedback,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Address: 311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;