We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin Hotel to your Saves list
The Franklin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Northeast Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wedding Weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very nice hotel, the staff is amazing. Everyone was happy to help you, always a smile on their faces. Made for a pleasant 2 night stay. Was not overyly impressed with the room, but then again-only needed a bed :) The shower was okay, its nice that they are handicap accessible, but that also creates a flooded bathroom floor, water comes out of the shower and all over. Otherwise very nice hotel, right in the heart of Chapel Hill, walking distance to so many restaurants and of course the college.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Deese,

Thank you for sharing your comments about The Franklin.

In our rooms with disabled access showers, we have struggled with a solution to keep the water in the right place. To allow for wheelchair access, there is no threshold or shower enclosure to keep the water in so we will need to work harder to find a better seal to prevent the water from getting out.

I'm happy to hear that you found our staff to be amazing and would like to ensure you get a room with a traditional shower enclosure on your next stay. Please feel free to call me directly when making your reservation at 919-442-4090.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    42
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
48
70
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Enter to a beautiful boutique hotel...upscale lodging in the downtown heart of CH. definitely op for balcony room, nice size, large bath, pleasing decor, ensuite coffee, great hot breakfast in beautiful dining room.

Room Tip: Balony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi there Alleycat0,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed our in-room amenities along with the hot breakfast. We hope you'll make another trip to Chapel Hill and The Franklin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Franklin about a year ago now and I have been meaning to write a review. The whole experience there was wonderful. The service was outstanding by the bellmen. The guy working at the counter checking us in took a long time but we got to enjoy the bar/lobby area longer so it was ok. The room looked immaculate. The bathrooms were very clean. They even put rose pedals in a heart shaped pattern for us without me even mentioning anything. The place has a classy touch at every corner. We even considered getting married there at one point. The food was great as well. I highly recommend staying there for all UNC fans, visitors of Chapel Hill, and for all looking for a first class experience.

Room Tip: Definitely eat at the restaurant right across the street. The front desk will make an appointment fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello dstadunc,

Thanks for your comments about your stay at The Franklin Hotel. It sounds like everything went just right for you when you and your wife were here. Since you didn't end up getting married here, maybe we can host you for an anniversary celebration one year!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to NYC for our 20th anniversary that was cancelled at the last minute due to weather, cancelled flights, etc. We decided to do an impromptu trip over to Chapel Hill for the night. I booked a room at the Franklin Hotel. I stay at nice hotels all over the world for work and this one ranks right up there. Right on Franklin St, great service and a very nice room. After dinner and a walk on campus we returned to the room to find a bottle of champaign on ice and a card signed by everyone working at the hotel.

Breakfast included is very nice. Only thing I would do different is not book the balcony room. It has a four-foot concrete wall so you can't see Franklin Street if you are sitting at the table. Minor point but I always try to provide a balanced report. Great place with great service. Planning our next trip already.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Winston34,

Thanks for your comments about your stay with us in June. I can imagine how frustrated you must have been when your NYC trip got cancelled, so we were thrilled to step in and host you as an alternative.

You make a good point about our balconies - the walls make it difficult to enjoy the view when sitting at the current furniture arrangement. We are considering some touches to all balconies that would enable guests to use them more fully, and some taller furniture near the railings and walls is something we are considering. I hope we can have that addressed by the time of your next visit so you don't have to avoid the balcony room.

Again, we appreciate your feedback as it helps make the experience better for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

With friends visiting from Australia, we took a mini vacation from our home and booked 2 rooms at The Franklin Hotel, downtown Chapel Hill. The hotel is beautiful, quiet and elegant; the rooms offer a serenity through muted wall colors and luxurious bedding. The bathrooms are a good size with plenty of counter space for "stuff". Included in the room price is a complete made to order breakfast with many selections - definitely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
LucyLuChapelHill_NC,

We're glad that we could be the retreat you were looking for on your mini vacation. We're honored that you trusted us enough to host your friends who were visiting all the way from Australia, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Perfect stay and very luxurious hotel.The complaints that I see from other guests are unwarranted. It's a perfect location and great room! As nice as some Ritz Carltons that I've stayed at. The room was smaller but cozy. No tub in the room, but we were only there one night. I really enjoyed myself and the breakfastl.. holy cow! It was delicious and definitely fine dining! We hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: Ask for the side facing downtown. Beautiful sunset. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Eliseccu,

Wow, that is high praise indeed! We're thrilled that you had a "perfect" stay, and will keep working to make it that way for all guests.

Can't wait to have you back with us.

Thanks for posting your feedback,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Please don't misunderstand my review, the Franklin Hotel is a nice place to stay but simply didn't live up my expectations for a $250 per night suite. My suite was clean and comfortable but the hallway carpets were very dirty.The televisions worked well but the WIFI was unacceptably slow (slower than dial-up). The staff was extremely pleasant but each day housekeeping overlooked replacing something (washcloths, soap, trash bad, etc.). The breakfasts were good but over a long stay there weren't many options. I might try them again because of the fantastic location but I'd try a non-suite room and hope some improvements have been made.

Room Tip: If you need internet ask for a room or suite that is not on a corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear NickHeckel,

Thank you for your feedback about your experience at The Franklin Hotel. I'm sorry that our services fell short of your expectations - you're right that $250 is a price that commands a heightened experience. In fact, we have a team right now that is dedicated to redesigning an enhanced suite experience at our hotel so we can deliver on the expectations that come with that price.

It appears though, that we messed up in a few key areas. The shampooing of our carpets are overdue, and thanks to your feedback we are scheduling that to be done in the next few weeks. And it is unacceptable that our housekeeping team forgot to refresh the basic items in your room. We will spend more time training to prevent this from happening.

I'm disappointed to hear that your wi-fi worked so slowly. We've invested heavily in our network hardware in the last couple of years, and are now taking a closer look at all areas of the hotel (especially the corners) to make sure everything is working properly.

Since we do offer the complimentary hot, cooked to order breakfast to all guests, we've been so focused on keeping the quality consistently great that we may have overlooked the lack of variety. We understand that this is important for longer stays, and will try to introduce some rotating options in the future.

We appreciate your willingness to try The Franklin again, and look forward to making these improvements and giving you a much better experience next time.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Address: 311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.