We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Franklin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Lewistown, Montana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We are repeat guests of the Franklin, most recently in January 2013. Great location on Franklin Street. Well-trained, courteous and helpful staff. Incredible complimentary breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dave,

I appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel. I'm so glad that you found everyone to be courteous and helpful - after all, that's the reason we're here! The complimentary hot breakfast is a fan favorite of our guests. If you haven't already, I recommend you try our homemade french toast with fresh fruit and made from scratch cinnamon butter - it's delicious!

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    38
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
41
65
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at the Franklin Hotel with a certificate for a free one night's stay. The service was impeccable at the fabulous complimentary full breakfast service, the staff was very friendly and helpful at the front desk, and the room with balcony was attractive, comfortable, and spacious.

The front clerk Casey looked at my Mapquest directions and simplified the directions for me. She is definitely an asset to this hotel. My only regret was that it was for one night only. Even though I was a nonpaying customer, I was not treated that way but with the utmost courtesy. If I ever need a place to stay near Chapel Hill, I will definitely will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hello Patricia,

Thanks for your comments. We're so glad you enjoyed the balcony and the hot breakfast at our hotel. Casey is one of our newest team members and she loves to take care of our guests by making things easy for them.

We can't wait to serve you again soon, whether you have a gift certificate or not!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed here many times. The location is great. Walk out the front door and there are numerous restaurants and shops. The staff here is always friendly. The rate includes breakfast. If the hotel is full it will be a buffet....at other times made to order. Music in the bar on weekends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking Franklin Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi Bill,

We really appreciate your continued patronage of The Franklin Hotel. It's great to know that our downtown location offers you the convenience of being so close to your favorite Franklin Street spots, and that you always find our staff friendly.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I just had the privalege to stay at the Franklin hotel for Christmas 2012 . Fantastic service from every staff member. Lovely rooms, bathrooms, balconies. I highly recommend staying at the Franklin and never skip that fabulous breakfast. Cathi carnell. Cumberland, md

Room Tip: No pool or spa. I like the 5th floor. Quiet and really relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here because it was convenient for an event we were attending. Great location on Franklin Street and campus of UNC. First, good parking! This is a rarity in a college town, but they had two decent sized lots, and no extra fees. The facility is very attractive, spotless, and comfortable. The staff--front desk, bell, bar and restaurant were all professional, polite and friendly. The room was comfortable, very clean and fresh, and the bath was attractive. Took a tiny part of that last star off because water pressure in basin was very weak and hot water took a long time. The other small thing was the tv remote worked only sporadically, and probably needed a new battery. Great bed and a half dozen down pillows were provided, and if this was not sufficient, they had a pillow menu available. In so many places a hotel will nickel and dime you, but not here; Free wifi, free parking, free water in room, free cookies in the lobby, and a delicious full breakfast in the morning. All this, and the cost was reasonable too. Ok, they get five stars.

Room Tip: It was cold so we did not get one, but apparently there are rooms with balconies, which might be nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've stayed here several times while traveling to NC. This hotel is right in the heart of Franklin Street and close the university and many bars and restaurants. The staff was professional and attentive. Rooms were a nice size and clean. The bed was comfortable and luxurious linens. The room had a coffee maker and fridge. Parking was a bit tight-the spots are very narrow but it is covered parking which is nice. There is some outside parking too. There is a complimentary sit down breakfast which was very good. This is a fine hotel choice and worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

WE stayed here at the Franklin Hotel in Chapel Hill, NC after a 3,000 mile drive across the country and this was to be our last night on the road! What a gift to ourselves! Absolutely charming and comfortable ! Very classic southern old hospitality and a beautiful breakfast served included with our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and professional! I am already planning another trip south to stay there to visit friends and will stay here whenever I am in this area. Beds and bath were fabulous!

Room Tip: The rooms near the gym are wonderful and there is a beautiful seating area in the center of the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Address: 311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;