We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The family came to check it out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Franklin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Franklin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Rome, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The family came to check it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

In December 2011, we stayed here for the Christmas holidays, since our newest grandson was less than a year old, and space was at a premium. It was close enough that we could walk to their home in Carrboro. I enjoyed a specialty called a Tartini, which was blue and delicious. The room looked out on Franklin Street where we could see favorite stores and restaurants, as well as the unseasonable--for them--snow! Breakfasts were delicious. Our Vermont family joined us for one, and all of them stopped in, including the baby, to see what a nice room we had. I would certainly recommend it for the value, location, and tasty breakfasts. The indoor parking was a plus!

Room Tip: Usually, the hotels choose the room for the guests, but If on inspection, there is something that do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    35
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
62
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our second visit to the Franklin Hotel and just as delightful as the first! The rooms are wonderful, from the oversize balcony to the soft linens and comfy mattress and pillows. On our last visit we had a sitting area which added a lot of space to the room as well as an oversize bathroom. They did not have that room available but this room, although smaller, was still as lovely. The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to UNC campus, Starbucks, nice shops and several phenomenal restaurants. The shining star is the staff; they are warm, helpful, knowledgeable and will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. It is truly a treat to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed recently at The Franklin Hotel and had a wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was in a perfect location for visiting The University of North Carolina, and the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have stayed at The Franklin and the location is outstanding...right on Franklin Street. parking is convenient, but the best thing is the staff. They are led by a friendly, detail oriented manager in Jay Patel. Not only are they helpful, it is clear they want to earn your business. I have stayed at The Carolina Inn as well and the service at the Franklin is far superior. Alicia at the front desk is a jewel...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family was visiting from New York and this was the best place in the area for them. Yes, The Siena is charming, but this modern hotel was more their speed. The staff was accommodating to my disabled father and very kind to my picky mother. Kudos to the staff for tolerating them!! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Located in the center of Chapel Hill the Franklin had a fresh feeling and friendly service. My room even had a balcony overlooking the street. It has a great location for walking around town or the campus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed at the Franklin this past week. It's in a nice location, close to many yummy restaurants and fun places. Rooms are lovely and beautifully furnished, and even the little refrigerator is larger than the typical hotel fridge. Bathroom is nice and large. The complimentary breakfast is not typical at all..eggs cooked to order, french toast..not that typical "go pick your pastry" complimentary breakfast. It's our second visit here and we're eager to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
Address: 311 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Franklin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.