We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous scallops and lobster bisque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nantucket Cafe & Grill

Nantucket Cafe & Grill
5925 Farrington Rd, Ste B, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-8838
919-402-0077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 251 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous scallops and lobster bisque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I love making on-line orders and picking up dinner for a group here. My favorites are the lobster bisque which is known far and wide and the fried scallops. i've eaten scallops all over the east coast and these are among the best.

Their giant slices of cake will feed several. This place just has great food.

The Farrington Rd location has a terrible traffic problem around 5pm, so don't expect to get there and back in a hurry at rush hour.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    45
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent selections, all were good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were in Chapel Hill and decided to stop at this restaurant because it was late, we were tired, and it was right across the street from our hotel ... best decision ever :) We were a family of four and every one of our dishes was excellent. The lobster bisque was especially good. The Scallops Kabob was awesome, and my daughter, a noodle and cheese connoisseur, said she had the best cheese tortellini of her 15 year life that night. In fact, she convinced us to stop and get her an order to go on our way of out town. Unfortunately, we had no room for dessert, but the dessert case when you first walk looked like the desserts were to die for. Loved this restaurant. We will definitely visit again next time we're in town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Late nite dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

After dinner we wanted something different for dessert. Earlier we had stopped in for a couple drinks and met the manager. As we talked, he offered a bowl of their chowder to sample ... excellent! Their desserts are on display when you walk in. Irresistible! On Saturdays and Tuesdays you get a free slice of cake with your entrée order. A slice is more than enough for two. Anyway we came back later for dessert and not dissappointed one bit. Nice way to end and evening. Great choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford (UK)
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little place. Good daily deals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a nice typical American bar and grill. Close by to my Hotel I visited this place 5 or 6 times. There is always a daily deal of some sort, Mon + Wed 1/2 price draught beers for example. Steaks and burgers well cooked and tasty. Decent seafood (crab stuffed shrimps are delicious). But the mash potato is to die for (really). Good value for money tasty food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lobster roll and salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Food was very good. Split a Greek salad with shrimp and a lobster roll. Tasted fresh and was delivered quick. Reason for 4 stars is pricing. Total bill was $38 which is a little steep for North Carolina

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantucket Cafe & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Nantucket Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantucket Cafe & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.