We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monterrey Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monterrey Mexican Restaurant
237 S Elliott Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5831
919-969-8750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 251 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The salsa was a bit runny but had a good taste. The chimichanga tasted old like the chicken has been refrigerated for a day or perhaps 2. If the chicken has a fresher taste, the chimi would have been good, but as is, it was below average. The enchiladas were very good. So overall all I would rate this as average

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Eaten over 100 times @ Monterray! Chapel Hill FAVORITE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Yes, it's true. I am not exaggerating when I say I've been there over 100 times. I CRAVE MONTERRAY when I've been away for too long.

It's the best authentic mexican food for SO cheap. Their chips and salsa are divine and their cheese dip takes the cake. Everything from their fajitas, enchilada, and arroz con pollo are AMAZING. Their margaritas are so cheap and they have great specials. The staff are ALWAYS so accommodating and their owner is so nice.

ARE YOU A CAROLINA FAN? Not to mention that I've seen Roy Williams there multiple, multiple times, as well as Butch Davis and countless UNC football and basketball players...Hansbrough, Zeller, you name it. Monterray is a favorite for many, including me!!!

Chapel Hill would not be the same without this neighborhood gem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like authentic, you'll LOVE this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having lived in Arizona for 29 years, I consider myself a Mexican food aficionado. After four years of trying various Mexican food restaurants in North Carolina and being disappointed, I finally found authentic Mexican food in Chapel Hill, North Carolina! My first gage was refried beans, theirs are seasoned perfectly had a creamy texture the way I like them. Next gage, chili relleno. I roast my own pablano chilies and make rellenos very well - my chili relleno casserole recipe appeared in Bon Appetite, 2004. Their chili relleno was made with a roasted pablano pepper also and was as good if not better than my mine. Next was mole sauce - everywhere I've tried this southern Mexico favorite in North Carolina, it has been too sweet - perhaps they added sweetened chocolate, authentic mole sauce uses unsweetened, bitter chocolate. Monterrey's mole sauce had a delicious flavor without being sweet and was a perfect consistency. I don't really like Spanish rice because it is usually bland and gummy, but I tried theirs; it too was very tasty.The restaurant is small and simply decorated with Mexican pottery; there are mirrors in arched "windows" giving it a larger appearance. The service was great and the food is very reasonably priced. I highly recommend this place if you like authentic Mexican food, I will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this place! I visit UNC from NYC and always make it a point to go to Monterrey! You cant beat the prices and the food is delicious! $2.25 MARGARITAS!!!! For what we pay in NYC the prices here can not be beat! The staff is freindly and eager to please! My favorite spot in Chapel Hill

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've been here a few times and am quite happy with it. The menu is great and inexpensive, and the service is great. The restaurant gets a bit crowded on weeknights, but that's because of $2.25 margaritas. Get the fajitas or carnitas!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monterrey Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterrey Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.