We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterrey Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monterrey Mexican Restaurant
237 S Elliott Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5831
919-969-8750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 251 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this place! I visit UNC from NYC and always make it a point to go to Monterrey! You cant beat the prices and the food is delicious! $2.25 MARGARITAS!!!! For what we pay in NYC the prices here can not be beat! The staff is freindly and eager to please! My favorite spot in Chapel Hill

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I've been here a few times and am quite happy with it. The menu is great and inexpensive, and the service is great. The restaurant gets a bit crowded on weeknights, but that's because of $2.25 margaritas. Get the fajitas or carnitas!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“First visit. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Now I know why it's always crowded. The food is really pretty good and the price is right. Everyone in our party of 6 enjoyed their food. Not super creative, but just fine.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home to mom about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is your basic Mexican food establishment: small dining space, large, unhealthy portions. There is no "Ta Da" effect in either dining experience or food quality, although the staff are quite friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you need Mexican in NC, this is one of your better bets.

Of course, growing up in SoCal and living on Mexican food, this place would be just everage in San Diego BUT I know from talking to the people there that they really cannot serve truly authentic Mexican to North Carolina folks, so they have to dumb it down a bit.

That said, pretty good stuff. They go heavy on the "cheese sauce" all over everything so ask them to put ti on the side. Straightforward, honest Mex Food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monterrey Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterrey Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.