We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Marriott Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We travel with a group of 40 people and Nicole Smith and Aleisha Dixon made sure our group was well taken care of! They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a great one. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    71
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
88
29
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Thank-you, Kavita, Tega, and Tierene. Everything was perfect during the week I spent with you. I was on a business trip and you were all so helpful. Your service is top notch!
The rooms are fabulous, the bar is cozy and fun, and the little restaurant has a lot to off.
Thanks! Julee A.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a king suite which was great for a family of four. Hotel is very well maintained and rooms are public areas are quite nice. Location, while not downtown is very good on 54 across the street from Meadowmont. You can get to Franklin Street and campus quite quickly. Service was very good except for the cleaning lady which did a so so job cleaningup the room a couple of times.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I travel to Chapel Hill very often for business and stay for a week. This hotel makes me feel at home, it's warm, clean, has a little breakfast cafeteria that offers Starbucks coffee, an indoor pool, The staff is extremely polite and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and even if it's not downtown it's close to everything..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at this Courtyard. The hotel was easy to find considering there were signs directing you to it from the interstate. I was impressed with check-in as all of the amenities were explained and I was shown where I could find them. My room was clean and comfortable. The WiFi was free and fast. The bed slept like a dream. There is no shuttle van at this hotel but the bus does run right beside the hotel. You can take the S line which runs to UNC Medical Center or you can cross the street and take the FCX (express bus) which cuts the ride down by half of the time. You may wonder why I am recommending the bus; it is FREE, the drivers are helpful and knowledgeable about the area, and it is much easier to ride the bus than to find parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Carolina Inn was full, so tried here. A very nice hotel a bit out of the city. Interesting lobby and very comfortable rooms.

A few things I didn’t like. Considering the distance to UNC or Franklin Street, I had hoped that the hotel would have a courtesy van for a 5 minute drive. Especially that this a one destination town. No van (and I can live with that), but two employees told me separately that they didn’t have a courtesy van because the bus service into town is so good. Strange to get that answer from two different people. Sounds like a company line. Also, and maybe I am the exception, but I find that people who stay at the Marriott don’t ride the bus. Yes, I could drive to Franklin street, but parking can be challenging and the lighting on Rosemary Street can be a bit dim. Having some of the residents of the men’s shelter nearby idling about doesn’t help. Marriott, if you love your guests, try the courtesy van for a while and see how it goes.

The hotel isn’t sign-posted very well. Just a small sign in some bushes that you don’t see until you are past it. Impossible to anticipate a turn unless you know where it is. And once you turn into the “neighborhood”, there aren’t any signs that say Marriott. Only a few very small signs with the Marriott colors. You can see the building, but without any signs, you can’t be sure it’s the hotel until you are inside.

The front desk was VERY slow. There were two ladies, but one kept wandering away and the other battled with her computer. They were both very nice and dealt with requests, but it took a long time. Also when asking for them to call a taxi, they had to look up the number on the internet and it took 5 minutes for them to finally talk to a taxi company. Also, front desk didn’t know the cost of a taxi to Franklin Street.

Unfortunately, when leaving my bill included breakfast from the previous guest the day of our check in. Although we arrived at the hotel at 17:15, there was a breakfast charge for the same day. It took a while to resolve this and while nothing was actually said, they did look at me as if I was trying to avoid a legitimate charge. Didn’t like the obvious bill error or the suspicious way I was eyed.

There was a large gap under the door that would bring the hallway noise inside, but I had a room at the end of the hallway so I can’t complain.


Now that I know where the hotel is, I would return. Maybe the front desk was a trainee and a one-off. To have a courtesy van instead of needing a car would be a big plus. Nice place with a good price and not far from the action.

Room Tip: Quiet room away from elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Noisy, paper thin walls. The elevator kept us up all night on 2nd floor. Screaming and hollering guests past 1:30AM on a Thursday night. Resumed again by 6:30AM following morning. The staff has no capacity or interest to ensure the quiet and peaceful enjoyment of the remainder of their guests. This hotel is not the place to get a decent nights rest. We had two rooms. We will be returning to Chapel Hill often and will stay elsewhere. Sleep here (try) at your own risk. Rooms were not ready at check-in time. It was past 4:00PM before we could check in.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill

Address: 100 Marriott Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#7 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Courtyard
Chapel Hill Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.