We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Marriott Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very clean, spacious hotel. Paul Mitchell products. Comfortable bed, modern furniture. Great breakfast spread! We stayed here to attend a Carolina game, super fast 2 minute ride to the buses. Quiet, safe. Will defintely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    66
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
84
26
17
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Courtyard Marriott at Chapel Hill, and am pleased to report that the experience was absolutely first class!! The hotel is a stylish low rise development and very close to UNC Chapel Hill, Franklin Street restaurants, and to multi choice shopping areas... Our room was spacious, (a mini suite with microwave and small refrigerator were supplied), was very comfortable and clean. All amenities are available, including a breakfast bar, a restaurant, and a bar to people to gather post dinner or any other event.. The staff were outstanding, with commendable service levels rarely experienced elsewhere. Phillip and Cynthia in particular were fabulous. I would definitely stay here again, and would look forward to the experience...

Room Tip: Choose a mini suite and ask for a microwave oven and small refrigerator... Enables control over food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My daughter was married in Chapel Hill, NC last weekend. We chose the Courtyard by Marriott for our Wedding Block of rooms because it offered clean, comfortable rooms with a breakfast bar of Bistro breakfast and a bar for people to gather in after wedding pre & post events. It was perfect. The staff was amazing from check-in to check-out, the bartenders, the bistro and the servers. Our guests were very pleased with the service, bed comfort, room size and most of all friendliness. I give this hotel an A +++++

Room Tip: we did not use the kids activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalBynumGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We recognize the planning that goes into a wedding and are always pleased to hear that we were able to help make it a successful gathering. Glad that you enjoyed our Bistro and breakfast bar. We take pride in our ability to accommodate wedding parties/functions and are happy that yours was a smooth and enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The staff at the Courtyard Marriott has made a bad situation more bearable for me and my husband, an active duty Army officer from Fort Bragg. He was recently diagnosed with terminal cancer and is undergoing 7 weeks of intensive twice-a-day radiation treatments. Because of this, we must stay close to UNC Medical Center since our home is over an hour and half away. A friend recommended the Courtyard, so we made a reservation and decided this is the perfect place to be for us. We booked the next seven weeks with the help of Cynthia, who went out of her way to make sure we were set up with the same room and the things we need. Both Fred and Tierene have also been extremely helpful with making sure that we're taken care of. It is nice to be remembered by name! Everyone from the housekeeping staff, to the Cafe personnel, to the front desk, to the yard maintenance staff have been incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. The grounds are kept immaculately. Across the street, is Meadowmont Village that has everything you would need... restaurants, grocery store, bank, coffee, etc. We've been here three weeks now, with four more to go, and it's become a comfortable "home away home". Thank you Courtyard Marriott for taking care of us! God Bless!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalBynumGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and service. We recognize that extended time away from home, especially under circumstances such as yours, can be difficult. As a staff, we are glad that we were able to make your time here as convenient and comforting as it was. The staff is honored to have been able to accommodate an active serviceman during a time of need. You and your husband will be in our thoughts and prayers during this holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Many hotels near the University of North Carolina campus are dirty and loud, but the Courtyard by Marriott is conveniently located and is quiet and pleasant. In addition to a comfortable place to stay, the staff at this hotel provide amazing customer service. Phillip, in particular, was helpful and courteous, anticipating our every need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice, clean, comfortable, and relaxing. The hotel is a 10-20 minute drive from Franklin street where most of the restaurants are. Across the street is a small shopping center with a bakery, sandwich shop, some restaurants and a Harris Teeter. The included breakfast was good, great selection, and good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just want to inform those lucky enought to be traveling to Chapel Hill ,NC that the Marroitt Couartyard is the place to stay! Even though there was a deluge occurring outside the sunny personnel at the Courtyard made our stay happily memorable. In particular, Cynthia helped us into the perfect room with an early check in. Then allowed us to enjoy our tailgate in an unused part of the lobby avoiding the rain and enjoying the game! Thanks Cynthia!!! The rooms were spotless and roomy and every employee went above and beyond for our stay. So of your headed to Chapel Hill, NC, hope the Marroitt Courtyard has room for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalBynumGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your stay was an enjoyable one. We are glad that we had the opportunity to accommodate your needs on a gameday during bad weather. We hope to see you again in the near future. Perhaps the weather will be more cooperative next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill

Address: 100 Marriott Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#7 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Courtyard
Chapel Hill Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;