We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy chef kid, happy parents” 5 of 5 stars
Review of C'est Si Bon! A Chapel Hill Cooking School

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
C'est Si Bon! A Chapel Hill Cooking School
1002 Brace Ln, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
(919) 942-6550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 232 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Restaurant details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Happy chef kid, happy parents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I cook a lot, and my daughter has helped me and learned from/with me. We would see the signs for C'est Si Bon around town but found that they don't allow kids in their summer camps until the age of 8 (entirely sensible). This year my daughter finally got a chance to take 2 week long summer camps there. She absolutely loved it. They cooked, learned about different herbs, tasted new foods, sat and ate lunch together, cleaned up together. A very true and loving way of teaching/experiencing what can be wonderful about the art of food. If you have a child who yearns to cook, I highly recommend their summer camps for kids. Oh, and homework is making one of the dishes for your family - bonus!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

this is not a restaurant, but a cooking school. Perfect for team building activities as you have to cook and eat what you have done - face the music! The school is quite remote, more a private house, very friendly, well done, excellent selection of wines, ingredients and recepies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A cauliflower of a cooking school! The best fun ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Dorette and Rich provide a completely unique experience at their one-of-a-kind cooking school. Fresh picked homegrown veggies, face-slapping sauces, laughter, and loads of love (is that possible with asparagus and parmesan??) all presented in a down-to-earth atmosphere where healthy meets chocolate and bread-making. These are skills that I hope to carry with me not just as a food arsenal but as a great-cooking ingenue escaping the world of fastfood hash and burn. Love these two chefs and plan to upgrade my skill-set at C'est Si Bon! often, especially since their couscoussier and mandolin make beautiful pasta together!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“One of a kind place, one of a kind people. I mean that in the most delicious sense!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I went to a birthday party, and also participated in Kid Chefs many years ago and this Cooking School is the ultimate creative small business, using local flavors, teaching all ages how to cook and prepare complex dishes from around the world. I saw my culinary self esteem shoot to the sky when I made with a small group pizza dough, lavendar cake and Jumbulaya in the same day.
It doesnt matter what cooking level or interest you are in- everything is catered towards you. Dorette went to the Culinary Institute of America and has so much teaching experience. Rich is the most amazing sommelier and herbalist. You will love these people.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hands down the best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

...hands on cooking school. They actually taught *me* how to cook. They tailor the classes to the students and give individual instruction to class members. At the end of each class, the class sits down and eats a meal the students prepared. This was the perfect thing for a Senior Citizen who has to eat his own cooking.
I've also attended some of the European cooking workshops they plan and lead. Again, they're hands on and students eat what they've prepared.
This is not a school for people who want to go into the food industry, it's for home cooks who enjoy cooking and want to improve their own skills. Do it! You'll love it!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'est Si Bon! A Chapel Hill Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to C'est Si Bon! A Chapel Hill Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C'est Si Bon! A Chapel Hill Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.