We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional diner -- a classic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 501 Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
501 Diner
1500 N Fordham Blvd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5880
(919) 933-3505
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Traditional diner -- a classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

501 Diner is a traditional diner with all the classic features you'd expect to find. The busy and noisy casual atmosphere matches the wonderful diner traditional menu resulting a fun place for lunch, time and time again. Great sandwiches, burgers, soups, and fries along with no-nonsense servers make this diner worth regular visits.

We visit often and will continue to do so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place for Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have eaten Sunday brunch at 501 Diner on a couple of occasions. Both times the food has been good, the service very good, and the atmosphere fun. We will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Classic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Try to get to 501 Diner at least once a month. It's classic diner with good, fresh food and friendly waitstaff. Can't go wrong with their breakfast menu but also have terrific burgers. For a change of pace, I sometimes order one of their dinners. When I'm in the mood for a Thanksgiving fest, I order their turkey dinner any time of the year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
460 helpful votes 460 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The 501 Diner is located across the street from the University Inn hotel adjacent to a shopping mall. The restaurant was bigger than it looks, and the interior decor is definitely eclectic. There seemed to be a dog-related theme throughout, but wasn't overbearing.

They had a Sunday brunch menu to go along with the regular menu. I tried the eggs Maltese, which was eggs Benedict with the addition of spinach and artichoke hearts. The waitress was courteous and helpful. The coffee was fresh and free flowing The menu selection is large and has everything that you would want for breakfast.

I would recommend asking for a table, or at least sit in a chair, as the booths were lumpy. Also, the restaurant gets hot inside, so you probably do not want to dress too heavily. Also, their hours are limited, as they are only open for breakfast and lunch. However it is definitely worth it to stop for breakfast. While it is cheaper eating at home, the 501 Diner is definitely worth it for a morning out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old school diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Eat here when in town for business. Usually pretty dependable, whether it's lunch or breakfast. I usually eat breakfast here and always get the grits which are better than most. Good value for the food and the service is always good. Good central location so it doesn't mess up your use of time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 501 Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 501 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.