We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills breakfast that hits the spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Waffle Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ye Olde Waffle Shop
173 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3620
(919) 929-9192
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 249 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Eastchester, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No frills breakfast that hits the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I was in the mood for pancakes so my husband, and I decided to give this place a try. I was really happy with my blueberry pancakes. They are about 8" in size so I opted for the stack of two. They had just enough sweetness that I didn't need syrup.
The decor is probably original and very simple. So if your are looking for a fancy or upscale place, this isn't it.
Service was friendly and fast. Pancakes were brought to our table hot off the griddle.
Tip: bring a sweater because the place is kept really cold and they don't serve hot chocolate in the summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    8
    11
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast while in Chapel Hill visiting colleges with the family. Narrow storefront on Franklin. Promptly seated early on a Saturday morning, busy but not too crowded. Attentive, friendly service. Went with waffles. Food arrived quickly. Kids loved the M&M waffles, thought it was a fabulous idea. Blueberry waffles had fresh delicious berries on top only-would be nice if cooked inside too. Waffle combo came w one egg-had it perfectly scrambled and 2 slices of bacon with waffle. Not as cheap as Waffle House but quaint and delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although this is supposed to be a Chapel Hill institution, we had hoped for better. Food was OK, but nothing special. Who serves margarine for breakfast instead of butter?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugspur, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A good breakfast, not quite up to expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I found this restaurant on a list of the top 50 breakfast locations in the US. While in Chapel Hill for a graduation a chance came to sample Ye Olde Waffle Shop the day after the events.
The restaurant was not crowded and we were seated promptly. Service was excellent and our server very attentive.
The menu is typical waffle house style with a few upscale items like Eggs Benedict and Florentine. My partner was very pleased with the Eggs Florentine. Nicely prepared visually and tasty. I had a Spanish omelet which had a nice blend of peppers and tomatoes.
Overall the experience was pleasant, food and service great. I expect the nostalgia factor helped make the top 50 list but we would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Waffle shop more than just waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

So you are in Chapel Hill and you want a quick breakfast or breakfast for lunch? GO HERE!!! Service is always pleasant and fast; surprisingly bigger inside than small storefront would suggest and the menu has everything on it for breakfast you'd want. Omelets? Yup. Pancakes? Yup. Hashbrowns (and they'll even make them dark)? Yup. I could go on and on but you get the idea. Mom and I love going the after an early doctors appointment. Those that pan this place are not taking the local 'color' into the equation. Much better than the chain. Some people just don't know local and expect everything to be like a big box!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Waffle Shop also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Ye Olde Waffle Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Waffle Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.