We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Waffle Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ye Olde Waffle Shop
173 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3620
(919) 929-9192
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 249 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although this is supposed to be a Chapel Hill institution, we had hoped for better. Food was OK, but nothing special. Who serves margarine for breakfast instead of butter?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    8
    11
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dugspur, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A good breakfast, not quite up to expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I found this restaurant on a list of the top 50 breakfast locations in the US. While in Chapel Hill for a graduation a chance came to sample Ye Olde Waffle Shop the day after the events.
The restaurant was not crowded and we were seated promptly. Service was excellent and our server very attentive.
The menu is typical waffle house style with a few upscale items like Eggs Benedict and Florentine. My partner was very pleased with the Eggs Florentine. Nicely prepared visually and tasty. I had a Spanish omelet which had a nice blend of peppers and tomatoes.
Overall the experience was pleasant, food and service great. I expect the nostalgia factor helped make the top 50 list but we would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Waffle shop more than just waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

So you are in Chapel Hill and you want a quick breakfast or breakfast for lunch? GO HERE!!! Service is always pleasant and fast; surprisingly bigger inside than small storefront would suggest and the menu has everything on it for breakfast you'd want. Omelets? Yup. Pancakes? Yup. Hashbrowns (and they'll even make them dark)? Yup. I could go on and on but you get the idea. Mom and I love going the after an early doctors appointment. Those that pan this place are not taking the local 'color' into the equation. Much better than the chain. Some people just don't know local and expect everything to be like a big box!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as great as expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a very mediocre waffle house, not any different from the chain-restaurant versions. Service was quick and cheerful but waffles were nothing exceptional. It is on a main street and I don't think it is worth the trouble of finding a parking space to make it a destination. I could see it more as a place for college kids

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Entirely forgettable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm sure Chapel Hill has its own "do not miss" local food joint but unfortunately this isn't it. Was visiting Chapel Hill for a weekend with my family (wife + 2 kids) and wanted some local flavor for breakfast. I wasn't looking for gourmet, just good quality diner food but with a local touch. Only waited 15 minutes for a table but food could have been from anywhere. Even the southern fare was disappointing--biscuits and grits didn't stand up to most chains. Overall, nothing was bad, just entirely forgettable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Waffle Shop also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Ye Olde Waffle Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Waffle Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.