We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Waffle Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ye Olde Waffle Shop
173 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3620
(919) 929-9192
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 250 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not as great as expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a very mediocre waffle house, not any different from the chain-restaurant versions. Service was quick and cheerful but waffles were nothing exceptional. It is on a main street and I don't think it is worth the trouble of finding a parking space to make it a destination. I could see it more as a place for college kids

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Entirely forgettable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm sure Chapel Hill has its own "do not miss" local food joint but unfortunately this isn't it. Was visiting Chapel Hill for a weekend with my family (wife + 2 kids) and wanted some local flavor for breakfast. I wasn't looking for gourmet, just good quality diner food but with a local touch. Only waited 15 minutes for a table but food could have been from anywhere. Even the southern fare was disappointing--biscuits and grits didn't stand up to most chains. Overall, nothing was bad, just entirely forgettable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A step up from other waffle homes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place has sort of similar decor to Waffle House but the food is way better. I got the M&M waffles which they are known for and of course I wasn't disappointed. This place is a crowd pleaser for many. A lovely fashion plate who appeared to be about 80 and sportin a stetson complimented me on my hair. Heck the atmosphere makes it well worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Not open for dinner. Decades of breakfast excellence means there are long lines to get into Ye Olde Waffle Shop on weekends. Good omlets, waffles, pancakes and maybe the best hamburger in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“College Diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Be prepared to wait in line especially on the weekend.When you are waiting in line with a hungry stomach everything tastes great, but it's your average diner style food. The place is small so the tables are one on top of the other so it's difficult to get up and go to the rest room. The diner is really where the college kids bring their parents to eat before showing them around Chapel Hill. It's an eat and run place because they don't want you to linger so they can sit the guests waiting in line to be seated. I prefer a more quiet atmosphere when I have breakfast with my family.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Waffle Shop also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Waffle Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Waffle Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.