We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Now Closed...Sorry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper's Pizza - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pepper's Pizza
127 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3620
(919) 967-7766
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This Place is Now Closed...Sorry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The pizza was excellent, but they are no longer in business. I'm sorry, but I'm only reviewing this so no one tries to visit Pepper's while in Chapel Hill and get disappointed when they arrive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Poor service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a UNC staple. Great food but since they moved locations it lost its charm. One thing it did not lose, its poor and slow service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“love Pepper's Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have heard a rumor that Pepper's Pizza on Franklin St. will be closing; and that a chain 'Waffle House' will be replacing it. That will be a sad day for Carolina. We already have a local waffle place 'Ye Olde Waffle House' and while that gets crowded, it suffices.
Went downtown to a movie, and decided to see if Pepper's was still open - YES.
You can order slices, or a whole pizza, with toppings to your taste.

I'm fussy about pizza crust - like it thin, but not cardboard tasting - and marinara sauce. Pepper's is by far my favorite in Chapel Hill. I will hate to see it go. Salads are always fresh and crisp too.

Go now - in case you can't later!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Studenty pizza place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

UNC students abound here, but it's not an amazing place - it's a nice, fun restaurant. People have commented on the service, which we found charming and obliging. The pizza is thin-crust and inexpensive. Very limited drinks menu, but it's not a place to booze - there are many fun bars in the area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I am a picky pizza eater. My favorite food is pizza, but I go out for pizza infrequently, because I am always disappointed. I went to Pepper's Pizza three times in one week! I liked their pizza. The restruant is a hole in the wall, but the price is right and the pizza is good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper's Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.