We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nantucket Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nantucket Cafe
121 Rams Plz, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-2332
(919) 968-8900
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 249 restaurants in Chapel Hill
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Midlothian, Va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I travel to Chapel Hill routinely and I find myself drawn to Nantuckett Cafe. The reason is: Great food, great atmosphere & friendly staff. Try the Ribs and a cold beer!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    7
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Their soups are outstanding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

They serve a couple of seafood chowders that are really wonderful. They also have good sandwiches and hot meals. Their pasta dishes are quite nice. My only complaint is about their desserts, which other people rave about. Their dessert servings are absolutely HUGE, and there's always too much frosting or whipped cream on them - removable, of course, but somehow that doesn't always work. In a way, this is good - I don't need any dessert - but it is strange that the desserts are so overdone. It won't keep me away, though - the soups are always calling my name!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's All Good - -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

All the food here is good, and I am unanimous in this!! (Fans of the Brit TV series Are You Being Served will understand...) A neat and convenient place to meet friends for a bite, and I also love to stop by and pick up their delicious soups to take home. Close your eyes when you walk in, so you won't see the bakery display case. If you fail, and catch a glimpse, again, it's all good. I am a tremendous snob about desserts, since rarely is there a baked good in a restaurant that I can't beat by a thousand miles at home. However, I am also NOT a picky eater, and I do love sweets! These cake slices are HUGE, and although my friend and I only went there for dessert at one point, I could only eat 1/8 of the slice. Took the rest home, and ate on it for the rest of the week. Amazing!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunchtime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had a very delicious chicken pecan feta spinach salad.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great spot for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Sanwiches and salads are worth sampling, but save room for dessert - you'll want to take more home!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nantucket Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Nantucket Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantucket Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.