We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breadmen's back on locals 'let's go' list” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breadmen's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Breadmen's Restaurant
324 West Rosemary Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2511
919-967-7110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 251 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Breadmen's back on locals 'let's go' list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hadn't had lunch or dinner at Breadmen's in quite a while. Sometime in 2012, the quality of the food went downhill, and Breadmen's got dropped from our list. Breakfast has always remained a good choice, tho. Four of went for dinner last week - we'll be returning soon! Two of us had the catfish special - fish fresh and flavorful; coating light and crispy. Onion rings always used to be our indulgence here - and they're back in fine form. Three of my companions had tossed salads, commented positively on the freshness; two had veggie plates: lots of choices to select from. I had potato salad - excellent! Good service; large servings; reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fast and Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When we arrived at noon on a Sunday, we were intimidated by the big line, but they moved us quickly into a table. The food is simple, but there is a huge menu full of delicious food served in generous portions -- for not much money. Service is no-fuss but prompt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The best biscuits! Breakfast is delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I'm a local and have had many a southern breakfast in the Triangle. No one's biscuits touch Breadmens. I'm talking, melt-in-your-mouth, like grandma used to make biscuits. Their omelettes aren't bad, either! You will not be disappointed with their breakfast.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Go during school breaks. You can't beat the food for the price. We never get there often enough. We've never had a bad experience at Breadmen's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good southern weekend breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a repeat breakfast place for us. The lunch & dinner menu looked fine, if average. The Big Breadmen's plate had pancakes, eggs, choice of bacon or sausage. I had the two egg plate with home fries (or grits) and grilled biscuit (or toast) and added a side of bacon, and it was very good. Service was attentive, even on a busy Sunday morning following a late UNC game the night before (so fans were in town). Serving size was fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breadmen's Restaurant also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Breadmen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breadmen's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.