We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit, warrants a return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farm House Restaurant

Farm House Restaurant
6004 Millhouse Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514
(919) 929-5727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 231 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, warrants a return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

A bit off the beaten track, but not far from downtown Chapel Hill. My son, a UNC freshman wanted a steak, this place does steak (and little else), so we gave it a try.

The ribeye was really excellent, and the baked potato superb, and large. The salad was lame, and seemed like it came from a bag, but my son doesn't eat salad anyway. On what matters--steak and potatoes-- this place is worthy. The service was off-the-charts friendly and attentive. Decor is rustic, at best, but who cares? Prices are very fair.

We will return many times in the coming years.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Well, the best news is the bar is back!

8 of us had dinner here on graduation, alumnae weekend. The entire area was packed with people. 2 months out we could get reservations here and went for it.
We enjoyed the very soft lights, the service was excellent, but very few people were dining in the restaurant on a night the area was overflowing with visitors. The ambience really enabled us to have a most enjoyable evening with old classmates.

We all had steaks. Some ribeye (8 or 12 oz) and others had fillet. It was served with a salad and a few choices of a side. Mainly baked potato or sweet potato.

Not the best steak I have ever had, but certainly not the worst. It could have been warmer. Almost room temperature when it was served and a little overcooked.

One of us ordered a piece of pie and it was just fair. Would not recommend that.

All in all, for the service and ambience, I would return. I have had better steaks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You should try it -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Get a steak. Don't bother with anything else. It's easy to drive past and their hours are a bit unconventional. Bring your reading glasses - it's dark in there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good steak at a fair price with good folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I ate here on a recommendation from a friend for a good place to eat after attending the State at UNC basketball game. Easy to find with parking in a dirt parking lot among pine trees. We knew we were a long way from Morton's. However, my wife and I are natives of NC and we knew this place reminded us of a steakhouse back home which was no longer in business. Building looks like a farmhouse and inside is dark with low ceilings.

It is an "old school steakhouse" with the grill located open to the seating area. Menu is simple mix of steak or chicken or shrimp, potato and a salad. Wife and daughter had the $21 Ribeye and I had the $23 FarmHouse Strip. Price included a great salad and a very hot baked potato. The steaks were cooked as ordered and were very good.

Beverage options are a short list of beers and wine along with full bar, basically all you need. Of course, the sweet tea was good.

Place was full of Tar Heel fans and you got the feeling most of them were repeat customers. There were other Wolfpack fans in the place besides us. We all were treated as long time customers. Wait staff was very friendly and service was timely. We were served beers and dinner, paid bill and were leaving the place in just over an hour.

Recommend this place for those looking for a good steak at at fair price among good folks. If you want white tablecloth, this is not a place for you. It is what it is which sometimes is a reminder of simpler times in NC.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pretty good cut of meat but that's where the highlights end.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Met some friends there Friday night for dinner, our first suprise was to find out on arrival they lost their liquor license, no beer or wine, I think they should have told us when the reservation was made, which wasn't necessary, 7:00 PM on a Friday and the place was near empty. very limited menu and they served soft drinks in the can, very odd. Given all that, if a decent piece of steak is all your expecting, then have it, I won't be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm House Restaurant also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Farm House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farm House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.