We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Menu - Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cholanad

Cholanad
308 West Franklin Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
(800) 246-5262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cholanad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 251 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mallette St
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu - Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I am new to the town and almost all my frnds suggested this place for brunch and dinner :)
This is one of the very few restaurants which offers 'chettinad' non-veg preparations along with the usual dosa/uttapam kinda south indian dishes.
The Big Bad Tiger - huge dosa (good for 4 hungry ;) adults) with meat filling and Tiger on a Diet - for all those vegetarians out there is a must try !
The menu is impressive with variety of fish and chicken preparations. The service is good .. will definitely visit again !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Contemporary twist to South Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Dinner time is usually a bit crowded and i have had to wait more than once.
Weekend brunch was much better in terms of wait time.

Food:
The Big Bad Tiger - must try at least one!
The Thali - is quite filling. I give more points to presentation. Taste wise - its good no doubt - but nothing exceptional
Entrees : Exceptional presentation and most of teh dished i have tried tastes pretty good too. Soft shell crab dosa, baby eggplant dish to name a few
Appetizers: The Medieval rice buns are my absolute favorite
Dessert: I love the chili ice cream!

Parking: They have their own parking lot but don't bank on it on weekend dinner time.

Reservations: I definitely recommend reserving a table for large parties. This place gets quite busy!

Drinks: They have unique drinks - i have tried some of the coconut water based and they were quite good

Price: I would expect a bill of 25 per head(including appetizer and drink)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wasn't that great !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ordered the vegetarian thali and crab masala. The crabs didn't taste good ( almost a spoilt taste) , the accompanying curried chicken soup was very oily . The thali was good but nothing extraordinary ! Overpriced for the average quality food.

So, basically wouldn't go to Cholanad again :-|

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very unorganized and chaotic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

May be my experience was bad due to the Friday night rush and the restaurant couldn't keep up. Never the less it is worth noting that my takeout order took an hour and a half after I arrived at the restaurant . I was told it would take 15 mins when I first got there and then rest is history... To make things worse the order was incorrect as they tacked in a couple of extra items that I had not even asked for.

Just disappointing...

I recommend Saffron over Cholanad in Chapel Hill

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy south Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Ur first visit here.. tried the medhu vada paneer tikka and uthappam... yummy yummy... one of the best I've had in the US. The naan is so soft they melt in your mouth. They have some great non veg dishes too

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cholanad also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Cholanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cholanad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.