We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a lovely setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rizzo Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rizzo Conference Center to your Saves list
Rizzo Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 DuBose Home Lane, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a lovely setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the UNC - Duke basketball game. I don't really understand the glowing reviews. The room was small (but clean), but the queen bed had a springs problem and we both ended up rolling into the middle of it. The bedding included some sort of comforter/bedspread that is clearly not laundered after each guest, and a down alternative blanket between two sheets (not a duvet), leaving the blanket exposed to the guest (also likely not cleaned between each guest). The bathroom was small (but clean), with the shampoo and conditioner in dispensers on the wall. The TV reception was poor (although the TV was a flat screen). The guest pantry was convenient - but I opened a cabinet wondering if there were snacks inside - and it was filthy. There is no food service for lunch or during the day, no place for a drink before 5:30 (on this day anyway). Breakfast ended at 10 on weekends, including the weekend where Daylight Savings Time kicked in, which was too early, and we skipped it. The clock in the room magically changed time, and that created some confusion on my part as to what time it really was (a note would have been nice). The staff was very nice, as has widely been reported, but there was one big service error. We took the shuttle to and from the game, and the ride back from the game was a scary one; a packed shuttle and a young, inexperienced driver rushing to drop us off and pick up those who he left behind. He drove that van too fast, and even made a comment going up the hill. We will not return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin D, Front Office Manager at Rizzo Conference Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Rizzo Conference Center and for taking the time to give your feedback. Our guest feedback is very important to us as we can celebrate our successes and address any concerns to continue to improve our services. I would appreciate the opportunity to personally speak with you regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were caused and hope to have the opportunity to earn back your business. If your schedule permits I am hopeful to have the opportunity to connect via phone and can be reached at 919-913-2610. I look forward to speaking you.

Sincerely,
Kristin Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
6
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked at the Rizzo Hotel and Conference center to visit family and catch the UNC vs. UVA basketball game. HIGHLY RECOMMEND booking here and would do so again and again and again.

The staff could not be more kind, attentive and accommodating. They went above and beyond to make our stay a delight. The shuttle service was a huge benefit taking us to/from Smith Center and later to/from dinner downtown. The driver was courteous and prompt.

The rooms were clean and very quiet. The common area on 2nd floor was lovely and was put to good use by our party of five for an impromptu happy hour.

The guest pantry was such a treat - was so nice to have access to premium coffee and teas at no extra charge - let alone the amazing selection of frozen treats.

The facility and grounds are gorgeous too.

Many thanks to the Rizzo for their hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Rizzo Conference Center is a beautiful property just a short distance from the UNC-Chapel Hill campus. The shuttle to the campus is extremely helpful. The rooms are nice. Bed was very comfortable. Our group loved the lobby on the second floor. We also loved the free treats in the guest pantries. Breakfast at the DuBose House was a great value. I will definitely stay there again if I am in the area. It is great place to stay if you are doing anything on the UNC campus.

Room Tip: We were on second floor and enjoyed it because there is a little lobby up there that is nice for rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evendale, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Was expecting a run of the mill place, but was pleasantly surprised!!Great location, excellent facilities, wonderful staff. Being out of season we missed a few ammenities but all the other positives made up for what we missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family was part of a large wedding party and celebrated the rehearsal dinner in one of the banquet halls. The cocktail hour and starters were plentiful and well done. The staff was friendly and attentive. When ushered into the hall for dinner a large staff immediately began to serve. All the services were well done. The food prepared well for such a large group.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'm not sure what to say that hasn't been said already. The Rizzo was a great place to stay while visiting family in the area. The friendly folks even let me invite a few family members come swim with us in the pool during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently stayed at this conference center while attending a course put on by the UNC school of business. I can't say enough about how nice my stay was here. The room was all I could have asked for and the meals provided at the DeBose House were awesome. This restaurant was in a very old house and we had most of our meals in the Library. What a great setting for enjoying a great meal and discussing the day's learning and interaction. The center has a series of walking trails and is adjacent to an interesting residential section of Chapel Hill and within easy walking distance to a small shopping district. There is also a really nice indoor recreation center / workout facility close by that is run by the UNC Medical Center. All in all this is a really nice hotel / conference center that I will check out if I am ever in the area again.

Room Tip: I had a room in the lower level and it was quite quiet, but I don't think you can find a bad roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rizzo Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizzo Conference Center

Address: 150 DuBose Home Lane, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rizzo Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this rare retreat for business, set amid 28 acres of natural woodlands. Created expressly for the University of North Carolina's Kenan-Flagler Business School's executive education, Rizzo Conference Center combines sophisticated meeting facilities with a beautiful setting and memorable Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rizzo Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rizzo Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.