We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great, one minor problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6121 Farrington Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Overall great, one minor problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

So overall this property is great. As a Hilton Diamond member, I see many Hampton properties around the country and this stacks up nicely compared to others. Check-in was super fast, had my key and was up to my room in about 45 seconds. Parking is plentiful and well lit. You can tell this is an older property but has been updated. The only thing that prevented me from giving this place five stars is the fact that after walking around in my room in my socks for about 15-20 minutes, the bottom of my socks were turning black which means it's been quite some time since the carpet has been shampooed. I never walk around in bare feet so it's not an issue, but it's pretty obvious the carpets here need a good shampoo. In the area there aren't many restaurants within walking distance (Carl's Jr. and some Thai place in the strip mall next door) so if you don't have a car, you might go hungry. Overall a good stay and would probably return if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all of our guests, especially our Diamond members. You are the road warriors of our hotels! Let me apologize about the condition of the carpet in your room. I will make sure steps are taken so that the issue is resolved very quickly. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    84
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
132
37
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MINDEN
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a nice stay. The room was comfortable especially the beds and pillows. Staff was helpful.

Downfalls: No microwave in room although there is a refrigerator. The price of the guest laundry is high ($2/wash $2/dry) but liked the fact that you had 2 of each available.

Liked the cookies and lemonade in the afternoon, but it seemed like the cookies ran out too quickly and so several nights we didn't get any. :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We unfortunately do not have microwaves in our standard rooms but have full kitchens in our suites. We also have microwaves down in the lobby for your use 24 hours a day. Our lemonade and cookies are so great that they move so fast! We will try to keep them stocked a little better. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very close to UNC campus. Conveniently located to good restaurants on Franklin St., etc.
Only downside was air conditioner wall unit was a little funky.
Would stay there again even though it's a tad pricey

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I appreciate your comments and will look into the ac unit of your room. We hope to see you again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were viewing local colleges in the area including UNC and Duke and found the hotel to be well positioned. The rooms, beds and stay were very nice overall and it was a great value for the area. The room was clean, the beds were great and we stay at Hampton Inn for their pillows. The lobby has been redone and is beautiful and the value for our stay was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We appreciate you staying at our hotel and hope to see you again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The rooms of this hotel stink of mildew and are humid. Skip it and go elsewhere. For some reason it felt as though the air conditioner in the room wasn't removing the moisture, although it seemed to be working correctly. My guess is that when the rooms are empty they turn the AC off to save power.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for failing to meet the expectations during your stay at our hotel. We take every guest review very seriously and we will look into the specific issues that you had. We would love for you to give our hotel another try to better your impression of us. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally to discuss. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

An excellent stay in every way! My husband and I needed a quiet place to get away for a simple anniversary weekend - this was the perfect place. Our suite was comfortable and well-suited for our needs. We requested a room on the opposite side of the pool area, and the very courteous desk staffer filled our request right away. We highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the opposite side of the pool are recommended if you want an extra-quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel provided the best in quality and service. Convenient location in Chapel Hill area! Clean and comfortable accommodations! Breakfast provided was really fresh and staff in kitchen was very helpful!! We so enjoyed our visit there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Address: 6121 Farrington Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.