We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6121 Farrington Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Everything went as it was promised but more. Room was fabulous - a separate bedroom from the living area, kitchen and clean/new. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. I will stay here the next time I'm in Chapel Hll. Wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    76
    17
    1
    5
See reviews for
121
34
10
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Found room to be clean, quite and restful after surgery procedure, staff helpful as well. Only thing I was disappointed with, was not getting a medical rate at this location, as our Doctor's office had told us that this was possible at most all the hotels in the area. We will have to check out other hotels for these rates as we will be coming often for procedures. Sorry this hotel doesn't offer this, nice location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was in Chapel Hill for a UNC conference and decided to stay here as I like Hampton Inns. This hotel was very comfortable as all Hamptons, but was very quiet. Even though I heard they were full, there was absolutely no noise from the hall or the adjoining rooms. I usually use earplugs when I travel but they were not necessary. I would stay here again....and will!

Room Tip: I prefer a higher floor. My room faced the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As always Hampton Inn's are consistently reliable. The hotel bed was queen sized and was very comfortable. A really great bed, I felt like I was sleeping at home! I can't thank you enough for providing such a comfortable truly sized Queen bed. I was very happy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outside Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend retreat. This location was located conveniently to the interstate, tucked back in behind a couple of other hotels.

We arrived on a Thursday evening, late, and I reserved a King Suite. We were in room 323, which is all the way at the far end of the hallway, the other end of the hotel, next to an elevator that thoughtfully only runs between 7 AM and 9 PM. The room was adequate for our needs. Having stayed at a Hampton Inn before the fresh duvets are very nice because you know they've been freshly washed. However, our duvet every night was verrrry lumpy - like our daughter's stuffed animals were under every square. It was kind of funny, but the covers were definitely lumpy. The room itself is showing a little sign of wear - chips in the tub, a couple of wall marks in the bathroom and the dresser drove us batty. Top drawer in bedroom would not close if there were clothes in it. We'd close it, and it would open itself, over and over again. Also kind of funny.

Living/kitchen was very nice. If I had one request in the kitchen it would be to turn the fridge/freezer doors to the other side. They opened from the wall and were hard to get into.

Breakfast was pretty standard fare. Normal Hampton Inn offerings, which were just fine. I really like the big counter/table in the lounge area for just chilling out.

I would like to see the manager's receptions offered on days OTHER than Tuesday and Wednesday. And one night there were cookies at 5:30 (Friday night) but the other nights there weren't - which I didn't understand why.

Also want to add there was a huge wedding there that weekend and they didn't bother/interfere with us a bit. The management on this hotel is good. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I arrived at 1 a.m. Monday, May 13 for a week-long class at UNC that began that same day. I called ahead to mention I would be arriving late from Charlotte, and the staff could not have responded better. Lavar, the front-desk attendant, checked me in quickly, scheduled a wake-up call and handed me an extra blanket and pillow — just in case I got cold and didn't want to make the trek downstairs to ask for them.

The quality of service continued to defy my expectations throughout the week. Each morning the complimentary breakfast buffet was robust, with different items. The front-desk staff always was quick to say hello and offer tips to make my stay more pleasant.

I stayed in a suite, which was huge! Yes, the room could use some updating, but it was very comfortable. The kitchen came in handy — particularly the full-size refrigerator. I did notice when I sat in the living-room area that it was very easy to hear what was going on in the hallway, but that didn't bother me. Wish the air-conditioning system had been a little more quiet, but that's the only possible complaint I could muster for this property.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a suite. In my case, it was only $10 more per night — and completely worth it. My room was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Over all I had a good experience. Breakfast was good. The Tuesday and Wednesday evening beer, wine and snacks were adequate. The exercise room had a couple of tread mills, a recumbent bike, elipitical trainer (squeeky) and hand weights. Next time I will request a room further away from the elevator and ice machine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Address: 6121 Farrington Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.