We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and large room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6119 Farrington Rd., Chapel Hill, NC 27514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and large room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed on night at this hotel and enjoyed the spacious room and modern and clean décor. Staff was very professional and breakfast which is included was quite good. Sausage and omelets as well as cereal, fruit, yogurts and assorted breads and pastries. Great shower and again very clean and also quite. Close to Chapel Hill and just off I-40. Needs a more prominent sign but it is next to the Hampton Inn so if you see their sign that is where to pull in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the compliments of our rooms and staff. We strive to be the best and make your stay as nice and comfortable as possible. Also thank you for bringing the signage issue to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you and will do something about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
15
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this location our room was very spacious, clean and the decor was all together of good taste. The staff is extremely friendly and hospitable; the continental breakfast has a great selection to choose from [not just cereal and milk] its a hearty breakfast to include fresh fruit, juices, sausage & eggs w/ bagels etc. We overbooked for an extra day but was promptly refunded upon checkout. If ever we're in town again we would definitely revisit this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 401 an end unit which was very spacious, however it is right next to the elevator which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing and staying with us. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was very good, beds comfortable, had a refrig and microwave. Great shower. The breakfast had a variety of foods. Liked the pancake maker. A very clean hotel. The location was convenient. They need to have a sign, missed the hotel at first. Would stay there the next time I'm in Chapel Hill.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs such as having a microwave and a fridge. We are sorry about the signage issue and will work on it. Hope you choose us again for your next stay in Chapel Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here for six nights. The hotel staff was friendly. The hotel was clean. Breakfast was the average HIE fare. While nothing stuck out in my mind as bad. It was an Average stay. A nice hotel for business commuting. No pool though. Not that I needed one. The only thing keeping this for 4 stars or more, is the staff bending over backwards to accommodate.And the cleaning lady taking my old newspaper copies and swamping them out for current ones :) * tis a joke* I did not request or need anything. So it was just average. I am sure if i did , they would have pulled through. The hotel was clean, well kept, everything that is expected of an HIE chain.

Room Tip: Cheapest place i could find near Carrboro
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Tony K,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad to hear you found our staff agent to be friendly. We are proud of our staff. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I booked my reservation through the Holiday Inn Express website. My plans were not firm so I purposely did not select the pre-paid room option which cost less. When I made my reservation, I was very pleased that the website said "We understand that sometimes your travel plans change. We do not charge a change or cancel fee." Ultimately I had to cancel my reservation five days ahead of the stay (within the cancellation timeframe). I was shocked to find that I am still being charged for a night's stay because this Chapel Hill location has policy of charging for any cancellation after the reservation is made. This was stated in fine print on the reservations web site but it was not obvious and I am certain I am not the first person not to catch this restriction. This is not reasonable and is very misleading. So far the main Holiday Inn Express has responded by saying they appreciate my business and look forward to working with me in the future. I would urge anyone considering this hotel to be very cautious about making online reservations because their policies are not the industry norm and are unclear and misleading.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Elizabeth T,

Firstly let me offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, and hopefully on such occasion we can start to rebuild your trust in our hotel.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Room was excellent and clean. The Clerk was professional both at check-in and check-out. Breakfast really good and fresh. Really good selection of food. Coffee great. Maid service excellent.The hotel was easy to find and in a good location. It was located were we needed i,.t close to the Medical Building. Thanks for the late check-out for my wife had to have procedure done with an appointment time of 3:30 pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It makes us happy to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. We are glad you enjoyed every bit and that is exactly what we strive to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very nice hotel, close to I-40 rather than Franklin Street but quite convenient thanks to Highway 54.
But...there is NO sign for the Holiday Inn Express on Farrington Road, so unless you know it is there, you will drive right past. There IS a sign for the Hampton Inn, which is a few hundred yards further down that same turnoff...but NONE for the HI Express.

Other than that, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill

Address: 6119 Farrington Rd., Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 miles from the University of North Carolina and downtown Franklin Street's shopping and dining district the Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill is your home away from home for all of your Tar Heel needs . With our excellent customer service, southern hospitality and Manager's Reception Tuesday Thursdays your experience with us will make you a fan for life. All 64 of our beautiful spacious guest rooms are equipped with micro-fridges and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Some of our other features include a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, 24 hour business center, local shuttle service, meeting space that accommodates up to 40 people, 24 hour fitness room, complimentary access to an off site full service gym and free guest/motor coach parking. For your convenience we are located only minutes away from UNC Hospitals, the Friday Center, Quadrangle Business Park, Research Triangle Park (RTP), the Dean Dome, the Carolina Basketball Museum (opened January 2008) Keenan Stadium, Finley Golf Course, Raleigh Durham International Airport, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Duke University, Duke Hospitals, Streets of South Point Mall, the Durham Bulls Stadium, Carter Finley Stadium and the RBC Center home of the Carolina Hurricanes.No matter what brings you to Chapel Hill we're sure your experience with the Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill will exceed all of your expectations. We can t wait to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.