We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night sleep at a reasonable rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6119 Farrington Rd., Chapel Hill, NC 27514   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great night sleep at a reasonable rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked this because I was traveling on business, but stopping in Chapel Hill to visit with some old friends. The hotel is within walking distance to a strip mall that has a few restaurants, including a Thai restaurant.

This hotel sits next to a Hampton Inn but the Holiday Inn was $40/night less. Check in was easy and at the time the desk person informed that there is a manager reception in the Hampton Inn I was welcome to join if I wanted - both are owned by the same corporation so there is reciprocity.

The room was comfortable with flat screen TV and nice work area. The bed was comfortable. The free hot breakfast was fine as they go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our newly upgraded HD TV's! It is great to be able to share amenities with our sister property next door as well. Please do not hesitate to come back and visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
17
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute through AAA and didn't expect much. But it was a very nice, very clean and well appointed room with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was well thought out with plenty of counter space for all our toiletries. The free breakfast was good and the staff were quite pleasant. If we go back to Chapel Hill, we would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the layout of our bathroom area. We realize that you have a choice when coming to our area and we thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night during a quick business trip. From time to check-in to check-out, we were there for approximately 9 hours. My colleagues and I were in the area for two days. We departed early in the AM, arrived in Raleigh-Durham and traveled throughout the region all day. When we arrived at the hotel, we were travel weary and ready to hit the sack. We all had reservations that we made days before. There were three of us on the trip and two of us checked in very quickly...then, came the third. No more rooms. After 30 mins, they found our co-worker a room. Some guy who had yet to show up yet. They gave her his room. Whew! I think he came in to check out right after that, but we were not looking back! We were more than ready to collapse at that point. The rooms were clean and decent, the beds were adequate. Nothing to write home about. After squeezing in a couple of hour's of rest, we were up and off again. The check out process was relatively smooth. Overall, good enough. I didn't notice a lot of restaurants or other amenities nearby. So, I wouldn't recommend it for a long-term stay. But, if you want a decent place to stay on a quick business trip, then it's good enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the glitches you encountered. We will definitely use this as a learning experience for our staff members. We hope to see you again at our hotel so that we can WOW you with our improved service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed here twice for business, and, if returning to the area I would stay here again. The times I have stayed here I really have had no issue. Beds are comfortable, staff is extremely friendly, rooms are nice, breakfast is - eh, and for the price of the rooms I would say it is worth it.

During the previous stay at this hotel I did have a room across from the elevator which was also adjacent to the elevators machine room. I didnt have a problem with the noise of traffic from people using the elevator or from it running, but if you are a light sleeper that could be an issue. I was also warned by the staff before they gave me the room so I knew what I was getting into. And the noise really wasn't that bad - but just something to be aware of.

I cant really speak of how great the location is because I didnt get to venture out too far. But it does seem like you'd have to have a car if you want to go anywhere to do fun things. Within walking distance there is a plaza with some pretty good restaurants which you will need to go to since there is no restaurant at the hotel. Also, there is a great comic book shop in that plaza if you need to get you fix of all things awesome.

Overall, I would say its a decent hotel.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, ask for a room which does not face the elevator nor is adjacent to the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all of our guests and we are happy that we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you for a third time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed her before, so decided to stay again. Check in was pain-free, and all the staff members were polite and professional. The room was clean and the bed was GREAT. The bathroom was TINY - and starting to show its age. The breakfast area was clean, but again a bit small for the number of people staying there. A problem I have noted with other H I express hotels-- there is only one toaster in the breakfast area, and it is SLOW! So there was a small line of people waiting to make toast... perhaps purchase a second toaster???!!

The second night of our stay, the heater/AC unit decided to really GROWL whenever it recycled. Since it was late at night, it was not practical to ask to change rooms. We mentioned this to the staff member at the front desk the next morning, and without hesitation gave us partial credit for the second night. Very professional! (THUS the POOR rating on sleep quality)
Finally, this hotel is NOT easy to find. There is a sign for another hotel, and the Holiday Inn Express is next to this other hotel. Since we have stayed here before, we knew exactly where to go. But--- again, LOOK CAREFULLY!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I thank you for your candid review and the suggestions that you have made. We will take all of your comments into consideration for improving on our guest satisfaction. We appreciate all of our guests and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, SC
Level Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is one of my favorite Chapel Hill area hotels in the affordable price range. I think this was my first time staying here in the winter with the lobby fire going, and it was wonderful!!!! The room was comfortable, as always, relatively quiet (2nd floor this time - 4th floor is quieter if you can get it). We got a handicapped room, and they were super about getting a shower seat to put in the shower for my husband. REALLY nice not to have to carry ours with us!

I DO wish they had easier access to outlets from the bed. I travel with a CPAP machine, and the outlets were behind the middle of the bed - not easy to reach! If they just put in lamps with outlets that would help...

The bathroom is spacious, although I could use more counter space (always lol!).

Nice sized frig in the room too. WiFi is fast.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Thank you for staying with us when you travel to our area. We strive to make our guests feel like they are at a home away from home. We are honored to be one of your favorites! We shall also take a look at the comments you gave in order to improve on our guest satisfaction. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Seems on the newer side of the construction line, so not too bad there, pretty clean place. Front desk service was, ehh, average. Typical floor unit by the window did an okay job I suppose, not sure if was me or what but a few times kept having to switch from cold to hot and vice versa so that was a bit aggrevating. Wife said bed was uncomfortable, and while I agree it was certainly no high class bed, I'd give it an "ehh, it's a place to sleep for the night" grade.

Breakfast was, ehh, free. I did like that they serve those half-moon little spanish omelletes, pretty good, and the sausage patties were pretty tasty; no potatoes. Typical hard biscuits and unhealthy sausage gravy, some warmed cinnamon buns, a few muffins, some day old bread, bagels (I think), some cereal, and bananas.

Can't say I wouldn't be back, but I'd certainly look around to see if I could find a place to up my rating to 4 or 5 at a comparable price first.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear jboynsteph,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry for being average in regards to your expectation. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#10 of 16 in Chapel Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Siena Hotel
The Siena Hotel
#1 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#12 of 16 in Chapel Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#4 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#9 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill

Address: 6119 Farrington Rd., Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#8 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 miles from the University of North Carolina and downtown Franklin Street's shopping and dining district the Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill is your home away from home for all of your Tar Heel needs . With our excellent customer service, southern hospitality and Manager's Reception Tuesday Thursdays your experience with us will make you a fan for life. All 64 of our beautiful spacious guest rooms are equipped with micro-fridges and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Some of our other features include a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, 24 hour business center, local shuttle service, meeting space that accommodates up to 40 people, 24 hour fitness room, complimentary access to an off site full service gym and free guest/motor coach parking. For your convenience we are located only minutes away from UNC Hospitals, the Friday Center, Quadrangle Business Park, Research Triangle Park (RTP), the Dean Dome, the Carolina Basketball Museum (opened January 2008) Keenan Stadium, Finley Golf Course, Raleigh Durham International Airport, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Duke University, Duke Hospitals, Streets of South Point Mall, the Durham Bulls Stadium, Carter Finley Stadium and the RBC Center home of the Carolina Hurricanes.No matter what brings you to Chapel Hill we're sure your experience with the Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill will exceed all of your expectations. We can t wait to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.