We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Raaga Chapel Hill

Raaga Chapel Hill
3140 Environ Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517 (Formerly Saffron of Chapel Hill)
919-240-7490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 251 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hamilton Rd.
Description: Raaga features the traditional and contemporary Indian cuisine of James Beard-nominated Chef Durga Prasad. The extensive menu features a wide variety of vegetarian and non-vegetarian choices using local, organic produce and seafood, as well as the finest quality halal meats. The wine list is extensive and eclectic, and features selections hand-picked by our resident sommelier. Experienced and friendly staff guide you through your dining experience. Located in the idyllic East 54 community, less than a mile from the UNC-Chapel Hill Campus and a short commute from Durham and Raleigh.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Should be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Walked in here and were seated quickly but wished we went sent away as the service was so slow. We were starving and did not get out food for an hour+. We also did not get drinks for 20 min and no apologies or check in from our server. Food was good but we would have eaten the table soon anyways. Will not go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food but overall disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A lovely ambience. The food was good/mixed. Vegetarian appetizer was expensive and not very good. Main dishes were copious and very tasty probably due to the large amount of ghee (I presume) - too much actually giving a too oily texture. I had asked for my vindaloo to be very spicy (9.5 out of 10) and it came moderately spicy. When the server asked I said it was not that spicy and she brought some (cold) green chili which helped a bit. Should have been red chilis. The service was pleasant but very very slow even for drinks. The papadam munchies that should have arrived with the drinks came out with the appetizer. Everything was slow.

The biggest problem we had was with the service/bill. We presented a $10 off coupon at the beginning of the meal which was graciously accepted. However on the check there was not reduction. A comment from the server that they "forgot". The bill then reappeared with the $10 off but now with an obligatory 20% tip. There was no tip on the original bill. This to me is no way for a supposedly upscale restaurant to treat its customers. The whole experience should have been better. Will try again one day perhaps but there are other fine Indian restaurants in the Chapel Hill, Cary and Durham areas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“" Capture the ambiance! "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The brilliance of the staff and the management is impeccable.
You are the " Honored Guest " for the evening!
I wanted to order the right wine to go with my meal.
Thank you GJ we appreciate your knowledge and enthusiasm as a sommelier at Raaga Chapel Hill.
Indian Food at its best!

You're Good To Go!
Nanlouise

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“yummy food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

stopped in for a late lunch and was delighted by the wrap selection -- came with dal, and salad, generous portions and wonderful flavors. Asked for a taste of yucca fries -- he gave us a full portion, more than we could finish -- we were totally stuffed and happy after a most inexpensive and delicious late lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food OK but service a laugh!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Well we started off well by asking for beer - "sorry the draught beer pumps are broken". Indian beer from the bottle is reliably good so no worries! "Sorry sir this is our last bottle (Flying Horse)! The staff like it so we have run out " Nice one! The draft for 16 oz sells at $5, THE BOTTLE BEERS are $10. Service was slow and much of the time, late, naan bread served half way through the entrée course, a spoon dropped into the black urad dhal, handle and all, "apologies" but some one handled the spoon before it went into the food, right!. No sign of replacing the dish. I fished the spoon out. Just like the pepper grinder under the armpit, a definite no, no. Just a note for the owner I would check that your staff are not drinking away your profits. Watch out for the wine bottle or two. You have a recycle bin outside the patio area. Ideal for the empty bottle to be disposed of. Cell phones and texting while on duty. Disgraceful state of the restrooms. Altogether Good vegetarian fare was served. Shame about the front of house staff because they are letting down their colleagues in the kitchen. Dessert, Coconut sorbet a delicious finish to the hot and spicy meal, "sorry sir I meant to tell you that we do not have any coconut sorbet", but it is on the special theatre menu, both of them. Perhaps the manager visiting the table would have helped. Yours very disappointed from Chapel Hill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raaga Chapel Hill also viewed

Chapel Hill, NC
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to Raaga Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raaga Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.